$1,000 credit union scholarship winners announced

GRAND BLANC, MI (May 17, 2017) — The Dort Federal Credit Union Board of Directors announced the recipients of the 2016-2017 $1,000 Student Scholarship award. These seven students were selected based on a variety of criteria. All applicants were asked to submit transcripts, letters of recommendation, and a brief essay describing what the credit union philosophy “People Helping People” means to him or her.

“We are thrilled about this year’s pool of applicants for our scholarship. The number of community-conscious, ambitious young people in our membership astounds us every year,” said Chairman of the Board, Douglas Kidd. “It is always difficult to narrow it down.”

Caity Cox
Carman Ainsworth High School
Clarke University (Iowa)

Kyle Fulton
Davison High School
Grand Valley State University

Casi Hudak
Goodrich High School
Michigan State University

Nicholas Hughes
Grand Blanc High School
Eastern Michigan University
Mechanical Engineering

Jaclyn Komar
Lakeville High School
Mott Community College

Ave’r McKay
Kearsley High School
Michigan State University
Human Biology

Sarah Parker
Powers Catholic High School
Grand Valley State University
Pre-Medicine or Physical Therapy

About Dort Financial Credit Union

Founded in 1951, Dort Financial Credit Union serves more than 100,000 members, with assets over $1.4 billion and ten locations. Membership is open to anyone who lives, works, attends school or worships in the state of Michigan. The credit union offers comprehensive financial services, including auto loans, mortgages, high-interest checking accounts and much more. Learn more at or by calling 800-521-3796.  


Laura Nestor
Director of Marketing
Dort Financial Credit Union

More News