AFFCU awarded Department of Defense Credit Union of The Year Award at Annual Conference

AFFCU Board Chairman inducted into 2023 Hall of Honor

SAN ANTONIO, TX (August 18, 2023) — Air Force Federal Credit Union (AFFCU) received the first ever Department of Defense Credit Union of The Year Award at The Defense Credit Union Council’s (DCUC) Annual Conference held in Colorado Springs, Colorado from August 7-11, 2023.

DCUC announced the honor on Tuesday, August 8, after its first keynote speaker presentation, the DCUC Advocacy Update, and four sponsor breakout sessions. The award for the small credit union category was given to AFFCU. In the large credit union category, the award was given to Wright-Patt Credit Union headquartered in Beavercreek, Ohio.

“We are so thrilled to be the first to receive this distinction in our category,” said Ryan Ross, CEO at AFFCU. “Being named the Department of Defense Credit Union of the Year is a testament to the excellent service, community investment, and competitive products our team has worked diligently to produce.”

Also during the conference, AFFCU Board Chairman Col. Sam V. Farace Jr., USAF (Ret) was inducted into the DCUC Hall of Honor. On the evening of Thursday, August 10, DCUC held its annual Hall of Honor Dinner and ceremony. Every year, DCUC honors individuals whose contributions over the years have made a significant difference to DCUC and the defense credit union community. This year’s ceremony honored three exceptional individuals: Denise Floyd, Brigadier General (BG) Roger Scearce, and Colonel (Col) Sam Farace.

“I am humbled and extremely grateful to accept this honor. I thank DCUC and the selection committee. I would also like to express my congratulations to the other honorees,” said Col Farace. “AFFCU is committed to assisting our community and serving its diverse needs. This honor is a recognition of the contributions of all the volunteers and employees of AFFCU.”

To learn more about the 2023 Credit Union of the Year Award and the 2023 Hall of Honor Inductees, visit

AFFCU Board Chairman Col Sam V. Farace Jr., USAF (Ret) (second from left), Board Member Lt Col John A. Szulta III, USAF (Ret) (second from right), and CEO Ryan Ross (right) accept the 2023 Department of Defense Credit Union of The Year Award.

Col Sam V. Farace Jr., USAF (Ret)

About Air Force Federal Credit Union (AFFCU)

Established in 1952 by 10 airmen on JBSA-Lackland, AFFCU has grown to serve the diverse needs of almost 55,000 members worldwide with a full array of financial services, seven branch locations, and the strength of more than $670 million in assets. As a member-owned and not-for-profit organization, AFFCU is passionate about assisting the communities it serves through volunteer work, scholarships, and sponsorships. For more information about AFFCU, visit  


Gabrielle Winchester
Vice President of Marketing
210.673.5610 ext. 5236

More News