BayPort Credit Union Awards Over $50,000 to Scholarship Recipients

Contact:  Monte Crowl
Phone: 757-873-4070

Newport News, May 25, 2011 – BayPort Credit Union hosted its annual scholarship banquet on Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at the Mariners’ Museum and awarded more than $50,000 to deserving scholastic recipients.

This year’s banquet honored a total of twenty winners from across the Greater Hampton Roads area and featured Don Roberts, Wavy TV 10 personality, who delivered an encouraging speech regarding the rewards of excellence.

The scholarship recipients are as follows:

Beard/Bennett Memorial Scholarships

Taylor Elizabeth Byrns, Mathews

Kelsey Marisa Davis, Suffolk

Kathryn Nicole Graves, Yorktown

Luke D. Harris, Carrollton

Katelyn Marie Schocklin, Williamsburg

Amanda Turissini, Carrollton

Wiatt Memorial Scholarship

Carlyn Bridget Swanson, Virginia Beach

Directors Scholarships

Kelly Brown, Hampton

Tiffany Lewis, Hampton

Stacy Maurice, Belle Haven

Jennifer Onks, Wytheville

Ashley Pettit, Williamsburg

Wenette Toth, Newport News

Tuition Booster Scholarships

Pamela Bass, Hampton

Heidi Bristow, Gloucester

Kada Dorer, Newport News

Joyce C. Hall, Portsmouth

LaToya McLaurin, Hampton

Amy Rivera, Newport News

John R. Walker, Jr., Newport News

George Dudley, Jr., President/CEO if BayPort, states, “Bayport Credit Union is proud to assist with the education of such gifted students. We feel a great sense of satisfaction knowing the positive impact that our winners will accomplish in the future.”

Since 1961, Bayport Credit Union has awarded more than $556,000 in scholarships. With total assets in excess of $1.2 billion, Bayport Credit Union is a member-owned, full-service financial institution with thirteen branch locations in Newport News, Hampton, Grafton, Gloucester, Williamsburg, Smithfield, Suffolk and Chesapeake serving individuals and businesses in the Greater Hampton Roads community. Visit us at

More News