Blue Federal Credit Union awards a total of $8,500 in scholarships

BOULDER, CO (July 5, 2016) — Blue Federal Credit Union, formerly Warren FCU and Community Financial Credit Union, is proud to announce they have awarded a total of $8,500 in scholarships to local high school graduates pursuing higher education.

The Credit Union has selected the following recipients of this year’s Blue Foundation scholarship: Elliott Miller (University of Alabama) and Ryan Lynch (University of Wyoming) will each receive a $1,000 scholarship; Allison Portenier (University of Wyoming) and Tyler Wedl (The Kings College in New York City) will each receive a $500 scholarship.

The recipient of this year’s Shirley Howard-Blue Foundation scholarship is Matthew Waterman, who will receive a $500 scholarship. This scholarship is offered to a student who will attend Laramie County Community College.

Prior to the merger, Community Financial Credit Union also offered a series of scholarships for Credit Union members and members of the Broomfield community. Abby Schmid (University of Chicago) will receive a $2,000 scholarship; Alex Milinazzo (Northwestern) and Kayla Schacher (Colgate) will each receive a $1,000 scholarship; Jessica Gloe (University of Washington), Katie Sanko (UCLA or UC Berkley), and Ryan Wood (Dallas Baptist University) will each receive a $500 scholarship.

About Blue Federal Credit Union

Blue Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial institution serving communities across Wyoming and Colorado as well as members worldwide. Our purpose is to create a true cooperative connected to and inspired by the communities we serve and to help discover new pathways to realize your possibilities. To learn more about joining Blue, visit


Michele Bolkovatz, VP of Public Relations
Blue Federal Credit Union

More News