Clark County Credit Union awards ten Smart Start scholarships for 2024

LAS VEGAS, NV (May 13, 2024)Clark County Credit Union (CCCU), a member-focused financial institution dedicated to empowering the local community through financial education, proudly announces the ten Smart Start Scholarship winners for 2024. These deserving students have demonstrated remarkable academic achievements, community involvement and leadership qualities.

The Smart Start Scholarship program is part of CCCU’s commitment to use education to help credit union members reach their financial goals and dreams. Each Smart Start Scholarship recipient will receive a $1,000 scholarship paid directly to their college or university.

Students are selected based on their GPA, community involvement, extracurricular activities and an essay discussing this year’s prompt: “In what ways do you anticipate adjusting your money and spending habits to account for the changing economy? Will education impact your ability to combat this inequality personally, for your family or both?”

“At CCCU, we believe in the transformative power of education. Offering the Smart Start Scholarship program helps our local students achieve their academic goals in this evolving economy,” said Matt Kershaw, CCCU President and CEO. “We were impressed with this round of applicants and the insight they provided.” 

For example, Hailey Gorelow, a selected scholarship recipient answered, “After moving out of state for college I’ve had to transform my spending habits. Throughout this experience, I’ve learned valuable budgeting skills and the importance of having enough money for essentials like school supplies, groceries and housing. I’ve learned the importance of discerning between needs and wants, realizing that living expenses are far more important than trivial purchases, especially in the face of the rising housing inequality affecting millions of young adults nationwide.” 

The essays submitted by students reflect the adjustments youth will make to combat the changing economy as they build good financial habits and prioritize their education. 

Below are the ten CCCU Smart Start Scholarship recipients for 2024: 

  1. Amanda Carper: Nevada State University – Speech-Language Pathology 
  2. Dustin Daskas: University of Nevada, Reno – Business
  3. Hailey Gorelow: Washington State University – Kinesiology 
  4. Jaylin Adair: Gurnick Academy – Pulse Radiology 
  5. Joah Razo: San Diego State University – Business Finance
  6. Kyle Taboada: University of Nevada, Reno, Reno Orvis School of Nursing – Nursing 
  7. Matilda Arnold: Brigham Young University – Nursing 
  8. Milissa Adams: Nevada State University – Nursing 
  9. Nia McConnell: University of Nevada, Las Vegas – Social Work 
  10. Owen Buffington: University of Nevada, Las Vegas – Mechanical Engineering 

For more information on CCCU’s Smart Start Scholarship program, please visit or follow the credit union’s official social media accounts Facebook, Instagram, or X (formerly Twitter).

About Clark County Credit Union

Founded in 1951, CCCU is a not-for-profit financial institution serving over 52,000 members who are municipal employees (Clark County, City of Henderson, City of Las Vegas, and City of North Las Vegas), medical professionals, members of Nevada Public Radio (KNPR) and numerous select employer groups. CCCU has assets of $1.1 billion and six branches throughout Southern Nevada. More information about CCCU can be found online at


Shannon Hiller

More News