Credit union leaders honored for service, commitment and leadership during Iowa Credit Union Convention

The credit union movement’s ‘people helping people’ philosophy clearly displayed to the more than 575 leaders who attended this year’s event

DES MOINES, IA (October 6, 2017) — Four credit union leaders were honored during the Iowa Credit Union Convention for their significant contributions to the credit union movement and the financial lives of Iowans.

JoAnn Johnson, Former Superintendent of the Iowa Division of Credit Unions
Johnson, who retired from her division post in May, received the Heritage Award for her lifetime achievements showing outstanding service, commitment and leadership in the credit union movement.

Roger Reiser, President/CEO, Community Choice Credit Union
Reiser received the Professional Cooperative Spirit Award in recognition of going beyond the expectations of a credit union leader.

Linda Ashby, Board Chair, Greater Iowa Credit Union
In recognition of outstanding commitment and leadership through her service on the Greater Iowa Credit Union Board since 2002, Ashby received the Volunteer Cooperative Spirit Award.

Beth Baird, Board of Directors Member, Linn Area Credit Union
Baird received the Young Professional Award for demonstrating the “people helping people” philosophy and her passion for credit unions through hard work, dedication and success.

“The credit union movement and its ‘people helping people’ philosophy is alive and well in Iowa and across the nation,” said Iowa Credit Union League (ICUL) President and CEO Patrick S. Jury. “That message was heard loud and clear during the League’s annual convention and through the impressive work of this year’s very deserving award recipients.”

More than 375 credit union leaders and more than 200 exhibitors, speakers and guests gathered in Des Moines Sept. 13-15 for the 87th Iowa Credit Union Convention. Jim Nussle, former Iowa congressman and current Credit Union National Association president/CEO, addressed attendees, calling credit unions the ‘original disruptors.’ He said credit unions are filling a void as banks throughout the country and in Iowa continue to consolidate.

The annual Iowa Credit Union Foundation (ICUF) Dinner and Benefit Night offered another display of Iowa credit unions’ commitment to helping people. Through ticket sales, raffle tickets and a silent auction, more than $55,000 was raised to support ICUF’s mission to empower people and communities to achieve financial well-being by championing the credit union philosophy of “people helping people.”

Katie Averill, Superintendent of Iowa Division of Credit Unions, administered the oath of office for the 2017-2018 ICUL Board of Directors. Brent Helin of Des Moines Metro Credit Union and Helen Pearce of Cedar Falls Community Credit Union will serve as Chair and Vice Chair respectively. Directors include Dave Cale, Financial Plus Credit Union; Tim Chapman, Members Community Credit Union; Matt Dodds, Dupaco Community Credit Union; Jeff Hayes, North Star Community Credit Union; Gary Key, Cornerstone Community Credit Union; Dale Owen, Ascentra Credit Union; Denny Siemers, Town and Country Credit Union; Jami Weems, Serve Credit Union; and Scott Zahnle, Greater Iowa Credit Union.

The following keynote speakers took the Community Choice Credit Union Convention Center stage during this year’s event:

Meagan Johnson, generational expert, speaker and author tackled generational challenges and misunderstandings with humor and real-life application.

Iowa Innovation Group participants, Filene Research Institute and a panel of industry experts shared Filene’s method of innovation, their experiences and work completed.

Mark Lindquist, former U.S. Air Force Sergeant, TV and film actor, author and speaker, offered eight steps to reigniting a passion-filled life. He capped off his inspirational talk with a rendition of the National Anthem, which he has performed for millions of fans at numerous events including NFL games and the College World Series.

A total of 24 breakout sessions provided attendees a wide range of educational topics, including serving underserved communities, going from managers to mentors, building deeper loyalty with Millennials and championing inclusion.

Roger Reiser, Linda Ashby and JoAnn Johnson.

Beth Baird, a member of the Linn Area Credit Union’s Board of Directors, accepts the Young Professional Award from Jim Niederhauser of the Iowa Credit Union League.

Front Row, left to right: Murray Williams, COO, ICUL; Helen Pearce (Vice Chair), CEO, Cedar Falls Community Credit Union; Brent Helin, (Chair), CEO, Des Moines Metro Credit Union; Patrick Jury, CEO, ICUL; Jami Weems, CEO, Serve Credit Union; and Gary Key, CEO, Cornerstone Community Credit Union.
Back row, left to right: Dave Cale, CEO, Financial Plus Credit Union; Dale Owen, CEO, Ascentra Credit Union; Matt Dodds, COO, Dupaco Community Credit Union; Tim Chapman, CEO, Members Community Credit Union; Scott Zahnle, CEO, Greater Iowa Credit Union; Denny Siemers, CEO, Town and Country Credit Union; and Jeff Hayes, CEO, North Star Community Credit Union.

About Iowa Credit Union League

The Iowa Credit Union League is the trade association that represents the interests of Iowa credit unions and their 1.6+ million members. Credit unions are not-for-profit, financial cooperatives owned and operated by their members. Iowans use their credit union membership to receive higher interest rates on savings and lower interest rates on loans. For more information on ICUL, visit For information on Iowa credit unions, visit Follow ICUL on Twitter at or on Facebook at


Natalie Mahoney

More News