Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Announces 2015 High School Scholarship Winners

Eight Cy-Fair ISD students chosen from more than 350 applicants

HOUSTON, TX (August 6, 2015) — Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union (Cy-Fair FCU) recently announced the 2015 winners of the Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship Program. The program, which is open to all students of the Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District, awarded scholarships to eight local students demonstrating academic excellence and a commitment to higher education.

Quimberly Jasso, a graduating senior from Cypress-Springs High School, was awarded the Pattie Jo Miller Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $2,000.  Miss Miller was a beloved 20-year employee of Cy-Fair FCU who lost her battle with cancer in 2010. Seven additional students each received $1,000 scholarships.

At a recent awards breakfast hosted by the credit union to present students their awards, Jasso thanked the credit union for the honor and contribution to her future. This scholarship “enables me to further my education and achieve my dreams,” she said.

Founded by employees of Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District, Cy-Fair FCU has a strong legacy of helping local students pay for continuing education after high school.  Its scholarship program began in 1992, and has awarded financial assistance to 162 students totaling nearly $160 thousand. This year, the application process was brought completely online—a new initiative designed to make it easier for more students to apply for financial assistance. More than 350 students submitted applications, which is a new program record.

“Encouraging higher education among local students is a top priority for our credit union. Unfortunately, the cost of tuition can be daunting and even prohibitive for many families in our community,” said Cy-Fair FCU President and CEO Cameron Dickey. “Through our scholarship program, Cy-Fair FCU helps alleviate some of this tuition stress and makes higher education more feasible for students. Though we could only choose eight scholarship winners, we were impressed by the many outstanding applications submitted to our selection committee.”

Here are the winners of the 2015 Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Scholarship Program:

Cypress-Springs High School
Quimberly Jasso – $2,000; Pattie Jo Miller Memorial Scholarship
Rahul Sharma – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship

Jersey Village High School
Jake Abeyta – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship

Langham Creek High School
Kristina Bates – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship

Cypress-Ranch High School
Eduardo Cedeno – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship

Cypress-Falls High School
William Hurbrough – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship

Cypress-Lakes High School
Tirza Vargas – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship

Cy-Fair High School
Allyson Howard – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship

About Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union

Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union ( is a full-service credit union in southeast Texas. Originally founded in 1956 with 10 members to serve employees of the Cy-Fair Independent School District, Cy-Fair FCU now has more than 25,000 members and serves anyone who lives, works, worships or attends school within Harris County and parts of Waller County.


Cameron Dickey
President + Chief Executive Officer
Phone: 281.571.5007

Shawn Orthober
VP Marketing + Business Development

More News