Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union announces 2016 high school scholarship winners

A total of $8,000 awarded to seven Cy-Fair ISD students among 247 applicants

HOUSTON, TX (July 12, 2016) — Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union (Cy-Fair FCU), a full-service credit union based in southeast Texas, recently announced the 2016 winners of its scholarship program. The program, which is open to all students of the Cy-Fair Independent School District (Cy-Fair ISD), awarded scholarships to seven local students who demonstrate academic excellence with a commitment to pursuing higher education. The students and their families were recently celebrated at a breakfast reception hosted by the credit union.

Cy-Fair FCU began its scholarship program in 1992, and has now awarded financial assistance to 184 students totaling $174,000. Scholarship funds may be used for tuition at any accredited college, junior college or university.

This year, Anthony Boutros of Langham Creek High School earned the Pattie R. Miller namesake scholarship, receiving $2,000 to help pay for college. The scholarship was named in honor of Ms. Miller, a renowned 20-year employee of Cy-Fair FCU who lost her battle with cancer in 2010. Six additional students received $1,000 scholarships.

“My goal is to attend Johns Hopkins University, and Cy-Fair FCU has granted me the privilege of embarking on this mission with less worry about debt,” says Boutros. “I was elated and humbled to receive the generous $2,000 Patty Miller Scholarship.”

The complete list of 2016 Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union Scholarship Program winners include:

Langham Creek High School
Anthony Boutros – $2,000; Pattie R. Miller Namesake Scholarship

Cy-Ridge High School
Pooja Agrawal – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship

Cy-Ranch High School
Heeba Ahmed – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship 
Rushendar Birudala – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship
Mathew Walther – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship
David Zhou – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship

Jersey Village High School
Alex Ramponi – $1,000; Cy-Fair FCU Scholarship

The selection process began in March and is run by an independent, all-volunteer committee comprised of various community leaders. The scholarship committee — Tony Barcelona, Barbara Crook, Jan Goodson, Celina Lapidus, Harold Rowe, Isiah Spikes and Alice Wimberly — is tasked with scoring essays and reviewing the applications, including the activities and transcript component, in order to determine the winners.

“Every year our scholarship applicants become even more impressive, but this year’s group of winners is particularly outstanding,” said Cy-Fair FCU President Cameron Dickey. “We are honored to support their achievements by making a contribution toward their tuition, and continuing our long-standing commitment to helping local students pay for continuing education after high school.”

Scholarship Recipients

About Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union

Cy-Fair Federal Credit Union ( is a full-service credit union in southeast Texas. Originally founded in 1956 with 10 members to serve employees of the Cy-Fair Independent School District, Cy-Fair FCU now has more than 25,000 members and serves anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school within Harris County and parts of Waller County.


Cameron Dickey
President + Chief Executive Officer
281.571.5007 |

More News