Elections infuse Coasthills Board and committee with new blood

Acting Board of Directors Hugh Rafferty and Bill Anders among those re-elected

LOMPOC, CA (March 31, 2017) — CoastHills added one new member to its volunteer Board of Directors and two new members to the Supervisory Committee after the Credit Union held its annual election.

The election results were announced at the Credit Union’s annual meeting in Santa Maria on March 15th.

Acting Board Chairman Hugh Rafferty, a longtime Orcutt resident, and Bill Anders — who’s served past terms as Vice-Chair and Secretary — were each re-elected to positions on the Board of Directors.

Rafferty was appointed by the board to continue serving as Chair until the next election in 2018. Kris Andrews will serve as First Vice Chair, Bruce Coggin as Second Vice Chair, Anders will continue to serve as Secretary, and Chuck Scheithauer will continue to serve as Treasurer.

Rafferty was first elected to the Board in 2004 and has served as Chairman since 2008. He and Anders, who was first elected to the Supervisory Committee in 2006 and has been on the Board since 2008, extended their terms by three more years.

Kate Griffith is the newest Director. The proprietor of Flying Goat Cellars in Lompoc was one of five challengers looking to join the board.  She will fill the spot vacated by Roger Welt. Welt, a retired Vice President of Student Services at Allan Hancock College, had served on the Board of Directors since 2010 and did not seek re-election.

Since first being elected to CoastHills Supervisory Committee in 2014, Griffith had served as the Secretary of the Committee, which oversees regulatory compliance, internal controls, audits and assessments for the Credit Union. Griffith’s move to the Board of Directors is what partially led to the Supervisory Committee changes.

Both Paul Klock and Lee-Volker Cox were elected to three-year terms on the five-member Supervisory Committee. Before being elected this year, Klock had previously been appointed to fill a vacant seat and finish off the term of the retiring Pete Moeller in 2016. Cox, a retired Air Force Colonel, won a spot on the committee for the first time after spending a year as an auxiliary member.

Longtime Credit Union member, former military officer and current real estate broker David Myers was appointed to fill Griffith’s seat for the final year of her term.

Darrel Gabel will continue to serve as Supervisory Committee Chair, and Myers will serve as Secretary.

About CoastHills Credit Union

CoastHills is a not-for-profit Credit Union serving more than 70,000 members in Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Monterey, Ventura and Santa Cruz counties. Founded in 1958 to primarily serve military and civilian personnel at Vandenberg Air Force Base, CoastHills now serves the entire community with 12 branches and a locally staffed full-service call center. With assets of more than $1.7 billion, CoastHills is the second largest locally owned financial institution on the Central Coast.


Rebecca Pohlman
AVP Marketing
(805) 291-7277

More News