Gerber Federal Credit Union recently approved by NCUA as community credit union!

FREMONT, MI (March 29, 2017) — Gerber Federal Credit Union has received approval from the National Credit Union Association to expand its current field of membership to a community charter.  This approval means Gerber FCU can now offer credit union membership to individuals and businesses who live, work, worship, volunteer or attend school in Newaygo County, Michigan, or the following portions of Muskegon County, Michigan: Cedar Creek Township; Moorland Township; Casnovia Township; Holton Township; or the following portions of Oceana County, Michigan: Newfield Township; or Greenwood Township.

“This update will bring more opportunity to Newaygo County and the surrounding townships.  It is Gerber FCU’s mission to serve the area through our exceptional products and services,” said John Buckley, President/CEO of Gerber Federal Credit Union.  “Expanding our field of membership will allow us to offer more varied services to our existing membership, as well as the new membership, “ he added.

Gerber Federal Credit Union was founded in 1950 by a group of Gerber Products Company employees.  Today, Gerber FCU operates two full-service branches in Fremont, MI and one in Newaygo, MI and serves over 13,200 members with assets totaling nearly $136 million.  Credit Union membership is closer than ever, visit and join today!  Connect with us on Facebook, Linkedin and Twitter.

About Gerber Federal Credit Union

Gerber Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, not-for-profit, cooperative financial institution headquartered in Fremont, Michigan. Gerber FCU provides financial services to residents and employees of Newaygo County and surrounding townships with two branches located in Fremont, Mich. and one in Newaygo, Mich. Visit for more information.


Gabriela Lumpkin
Account Associate
William Mills Agency
T 678-781-7211

More News