Hawaii Community Federal Credit Union awards $18,500 in scholarships to Big Island students

KAILUA-KONA, HI (July 7, 2016) — Hawaii Community Federal Credit Union is helping eight deserving high school seniors take their first important steps toward their future goals with scholarships to a two- or four-year institute of higher learning in the coming school year.

The graduates were selected from a field of applicants from 15 Big Island high schools. Seven of the scholarships are named after a volunteer or manager who made significant contributions to Hawaii Community Federal Credit Union.

The $18,500 will be awarded among the following recipients:

• The John Y. Iwane Scholarship was presented to Luigi Remo, a graduate of Kealakehe High. Luigi plans to pursue a career in electrical engineering.

• The Peter T. Hirata Scholarship was awarded to Honu Tea O Te Rai Akau-­Nguyen of Hawaii Preparatory Academy, who plans to pursue a career as a registered nurse.

• The Albert Akana Scholarship was presented to Abcde Matias of Waiakea High. Abcde plans to pursue a career in psychology.

• The Katsumasa Tomita Scholarship was awarded to Jonathan Uhlmann of St. Joseph Junior/High School. Jonathan plans to pursue a career in computer science.

• The Frank Ishii Scholarship was presented to Lauren Villafuerte of Honokaa High School, who will pursue a career in the bioengineering/biomedical engineering field.

• The Mitsugi Inaba Scholarship was awarded to Daylen Calicdan of Kamehameha Schools-Hawaii, who plans to pursue studies in art, architecture and design.

• The Michael Asam Scholarship was presented to Brianna Halliwell of Konawaena High School. Brianna plans to pursue a career as a pharmacist.

• The Student Credit Union Scholarship was awarded to Yuki Zbytovsky of Kohala High. Yuki plans to pursue a business career in marketing and management.

About Hawaii Community Federal Credit Union

Hawaii Community Federal Credit Union is a non­profit credit union wholly owned by its member/owners, with branches in Honokaa, Kailua-­Kona, Kaloko, Kealakekua and Kohala.


More News