Hawaii State FCU awards $100,000 in scholarships to Hawaii students

20 Hawaii students received $5,000 each toward their college tuition

HONOLULU, HI (August 16, 2021)Hawaii State Federal Credit Union (Hawaii State FCU), today announced the 20 recipients of its Lowell Kalapa Scholarship program who will receive a combined total of $100,000 in scholarships. The students were awarded $5,000 each to help with tuition at an accredited university, college or trade/vocational school for the 2021-2022 school year. The scholarship recipients range from students entering their first year of college, to graduate students pursuing advanced degrees.

“Hawaii State FCU remains committed to helping our keiki succeed, whether it’s through our teacher grant program or the Lowell Kalapa Scholarship program which was created more than 20 years ago,” said Andrew Rosen, president and CEO of Hawaii State FCU. “Congratulations to these deserving scholarship recipients. We wish them all the best as they continue on their academic journey.”

The scholarship recipients were selected based on financial need, academic merit and extracurricular activities. This year, one recipient is an incoming freshman, seven are attending graduate school, and the remaining 12 are returning undergraduates. The following is a list of the 2021 Lowell Kalapa Scholarship recipients who attended public or private high schools on Oahu and Maui:

Kobey   Arai, University of Hawaii – Manoa

Seth Arakawa, Oregon State University

Logan Brown, University of San Francisco

Cierralyn Cabral, University of Hawaii – Hilo

Irelyn Carba, University of Nevada – Las Vegas

Nalehua O Puna Donlin, University of Hawaii – Manoa

Jailynn Hale, Chaminade University of Honolulu

Gabriella Johnson, University of Hawaii – West Oahu

Keahi Kahui, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Sheri Komori, Pacific University

Deonna Lee Loy, Chaminade University of Honolulu

Skylar Lee-Stefanov, University of California – Irvine

Charlise Limjoco-Ragasa, University of Washington

Kamehalani Ortiz, University of Hawaii – West Oahu

Malulani Paiste, University of Hawaii – Manoa

Kristin Paleka, Grand Canyon University

Alexis Pasion, Hawaii Pacific University

Madisyn Polendey, Chaminade University of Honolulu

Trixie Rosal, Ohlone Community College

Tatiana Soon, Colorado State University – Fort Collins

Established in 1996, Hawaii State FCU’s Lowell Kalapa Scholarship Program has awarded nearly $900,000 in scholarships to help Hawaii’s best and brightest students pursue their higher education goals. For more information about the scholarship program, visit

About Hawaii State Federal Credit Union

Hawaii State Federal Credit Union (Hawaii State FCU) was founded in 1936. Serving state, city and county employees as well as non-profits and select businesses and their families across the state, Hawaii State FCU has more than 125,000 members and $2.3 billion in assets. Hawaii State FCU provides financial advising, checking, savings and loan services on Oahu and Maui. For more information, visit


Angela Behm
(808) 341-3045

More News