Hopewell Federal Credit Union awards scholarship to Newark student

$1000 was awarded to Robyn Thomson of Newark, Ohio

HEATH/NEWARK/JOHNSTOWN, OH (June 24, 2016) — Hopewell Federal Credit Union announced the winner of its $1000 scholarship. This distinguished honor was awarded to Robyn Thomson. Robyn, a recent graduate from Newark High School, will depart in the fall to attend Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. This bright young lady hopes to pursue a degree in the criminal justice field.

Thomson excels both academically and personally and has created a strong presence in the community.  Below are just a few of her accolades.

·         She is active – Participating in Key Club, F.O.R. Club, Swim Team and 4 Paws 4-H Club
·         She is a hard worker – Holding jobs at River Road Coffee House, Licking County Family YMCA, and the Devine Farms
·         She is a volunteer – Donating her time to the Blast After School Program which assists elementary age children 
·         She is intelligent – Serving as a member of the National Honor Society
Applicants were asked to reflect on ways they could help peers become financially literate.  Though a strong field of applicants came forward with submissions, Ms. Thomson’s was a standout and chosen as the 2016 Hopewell Federal Scholarship winner.
Check Presentation

About Hopewell Federal Credit Union

Hopewell Federal Credit Union, a community leader serving Licking, Franklin, and Delaware counties, is a well-established credit union and not-for-profit financial cooperative that is owned by its members. They provide a full range of financial services including savings and checking accounts, loan products, and business accounts.  HFCU operates with the mission of helping its members get ahead financially and serves anyone who lives, works or worships in Licking, Franklin, and Delaware Counties.


Audra Johns, Marketing and Business Development Director

501 Hopewell Drive, Heath, Ohio 43056

Phone: (740) 522-8311

More News