Iowa Credit Union League announces 2016-17 Board of Directors and honors six credit union leaders at annual convention

DES MOINES, IA (September 23, 2016) — Iowa credit union representatives were sworn in as the Iowa Credit Union League (ICUL) Board of Directors at the annual Iowa Credit Union Convention on September 15 in Cedar Rapids. The annual convention had record attendance this year, with 440 credit union leaders and board members from around the state.

“The annual credit union convention is an innovative and inspirational event for the Iowa credit union movement,” said Patrick S. Jury, President and CEO of ICUL. “All year long, our state’s credit unions work to improve the financial lives of more than one million members, and coming together every fall at annual convention is part of the cooperative nature of member-owned credit unions.”

Brent Helin, CEO of Des Moines Metro Credit Union, was elected to serve as the Chair of the ICUL Board and Helen Pearce, President and CEO of Cedar Falls Community Credit Union, was elected to serve as the Vice Chair.

The entire ICUL Board is listed below by asset category. By serving on the 11-member board, each individual represents the interests of Iowa’s 92 credit unions and their more than one million members. ICUL is the trade association for Iowa’s not-for-profit credit union industry.

$0-31 Million Asset Category

  • Gary Key, Cornerstone Community Credit Union, Des Moines
  • Jonathon Miller, IntegrUS Credit Union, Dubuque
  • Denny Siemers, Town and Country Credit Union, Harlan

$31-$151 Million Asset Category

  • Tim Chapman, Members Community Credit Union, Muscatine
  • Jeff Hayes, North Star Community Credit Union, Cherokee
  • Helen Pearce, Board Vice Chair, Cedar Falls Community Credit Union, Cedar Falls

$151 Million and Above Asset Category

  • Matthew Dodds, Dupaco Community Credit Union, Dubuque
  • Dale Owen, Ascentra Credit Union, Bettendorf
  • Scott Zahnle, Greater Iowa Credit Union, Ames

At-Large Category

  • Dave Cale, Financial Plus Credit Union, West Des Moines
  • Brent Helin, Board Chair, Des Moines Metro Credit Union, Des Moines

“On behalf of the Iowa Credit Union League, I would like to congratulate these individuals for being elected to the ICUL Board of Directors,” said Jury. “We sincerely appreciate their willingness to lead our trade association, and the entire credit union industry, in fulfilling our long-term strategic vision of improving the financial lives of consumers. I look forward to working with them in the future.”

In addition, ICUL honored six credit union representatives at convention who exemplify the best of the industry. The honorees include:

  • Heritage Award: Karolyn Wells, Vice President of Lending, Financial Plus Credit Union, Des Moines – Download Photo
  • Professional Cooperative Spirit Award: Kim Fettkether, Vice President of Strategic Development, The Veridian Group – Download Photo
  • Professional Cooperative Spirit Award: Jacki Lerdal, retired CEO of Power Co-op Employees Credit Union, Humboldt – No photo available
  • Volunteer Cooperative Spirit Award: Lily Ronfeldt, Sioux Valley Community Credit Union, Sioux City – Download Photo
  • Young Professional of the Year Award: Taylor Yezek, eMarketing Specialist, Collins Community Credit Union, Cedar Rapids – Download Photo
  • Young Professional of the Year Award: Jordan Hensley, CEO, Peoples Credit Union, Webster City – Download Photo

About Iowa Credit Union League

The Iowa Credit Union League is the trade association that represents the interests of Iowa credit unions and their 1.6+ million members. Credit unions are not-for-profit, financial cooperatives owned and operated by their members. Iowans use their credit union membership to receive higher interest rates on savings and lower interest rates on loans. For more information on ICUL, visit For information on Iowa credit unions, visit Follow ICUL on Twitter at or on Facebook at


Natalie Mahoney

More News