Local teachers receive more than $46,000 in Classroom Cash Grants from MSGCU

CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI (November 9, 2017) — Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union (MSGCU) is excited to announce its 63 Classroom Cash Grant Recipients for 2017. These educators are from local Michigan elementary, middle and high schools.  The grants, worth up to $750 each, help with the implementation of innovative projects and learning experiences in the classrooms. Projects include flexible seating and sensory resources that encourage collaborative exchanges, interactive reading systems and technology enhancements and many others that foster students’ exploration, independent thinking and problem solving. In total, MSGCU is awarding $46,686 to 41 schools from across the Metro Detroit area.

With a heritage rooted in education, MSGCU is committed to supporting the creative and entrepreneurial spirit of the teaching community. Over the past 11 years, the Classroom Cash Grant program has awarded hundreds of educators with extra funding for unique projects that enhance their academic environment.

“Students represent our future and contributing to their growth and learning is part of our mission at MSGCU in support of the community,” said President /CEO Peter Gates.  “We are humbled by the impact teachers have as a result of this program because of the important role they play in the education and development of our youth.”

Classroom Cash Grant winners are chosen based on total votes cast by fellow students, parents, colleagues, family and friends. This year more than 280,000 votes were received during a two-week online voting period.

MSGCU’s Classroom Cash Grant Program is open annually to all teachers  in the communities MSGCU serves.

For more information about the Classroom Cash Grant program and to view the winning grant recipients’ projects, visit

2017 MSGCU Classroom Cash Grant Winners

Amy Ghattas – Warren Woods Tower High School (Warren)

Amy Orlando – Beacon Tree Elementary School (Shelby Township)

Angela Jolley – Browning Elementary School (Sterling Heights)

Ashley Zachwieja – Hatherly Educational Center (Sterling Heights)

Candace Ivy – Plumbrook Elementary School (Sterling Heights)

Carol Scott – Saint Mary of the Hills Preschool (Rochester Hills)

Cheryl Pietraszewski – Stevenson High School (Sterling Heights)

Cheryl Robisch – Kaiser Elementary School (Roseville)

Christine Zatell-Holden – Floyd Ebeling Elementary School (Macomb)

Cindy Shankin – Boulan Park Middle School (Troy)

Connie Wakefield – Shelby Junior High School (Shelby Township)

Deanna Fakhouri – Troy Athens High School (Troy)

Elisabeth Newman – Rochester Adams High School (Rochester Hills)

Gabriella Locher – Bemis Junior High School (Sterling Heights)

Gary Speshock – Port Huron High School (Port Huron)

Georgianna Murray – Harmon Elementary School (St. Clair Shores)

Gina Evans – Beacon Tree Elementary School (Shelby Township)

Heather Weaver – Lakeview Early Childhood Center (St. Clair Shores)

Hilary Speshock – Beacon Tree Elementary School (Shelby Township)

Holly Loose – Indian Hills Elementary School (Washington)

Jacqueline Schmidt – Parkway Christian School (Sterling Heights)

Jacqueline Tarnacki – Jefferson Elementary School (Sterling Heights)

James Nuse – Browning Elementary (Sterling Heights)

Jennifer Casbar – Huron Academy (Sterling Heights)

Jennifer Green – Immaculate Conception Catholic School  (Ira Township)

Jessica Jones – Lamphere Public Schools (Madison Heights)

Jill Erfourth – Richard J. Duncan Elementary School (Shelby Township)

Jill Majewski – New Haven Elementary School (New Haven)

Joshua Murphy – Simonds Elementary School (Madison Heights)

Julia Rider – St. Lawrence School (Utica)

Julie Burgett – West Utica Elementary School (Shelby Township)

Julie Demers – Harmon Elementary (St. Clair Shores)

Karen McLaughlin – Warren Woods Early Childhood Center (Warren)

Kelli Herr – Rodgers Elementary School (St. Clair Shores)

Kellie Reimer – South River Elementary School (Harrison Township)

Kelly Martz – Kaiser Elementary School (Roseville)

Krista Schumacher – Princeton Elementary School (St. Clair Shores)

Kristin Nolan – Siersma Elementary School (Warren)

Laura Laban – Floyd Ebeling Elementary School (Macomb)

Levqual Robinson – Southfield High School for the Arts & Technology (Southfield)

Lorri Zieleniewski – Richard J. Duncan Elementary School (Shelby Township)

Marcia Jahn – Browning Elementary School (Sterling Heights)

Marsha Niesluchowski – Simonds Elementary School (Madison Heights)

Melissa Koch – Margaret I. Susick Elementary School (Troy)

Michelle Alger – Huron Academy (Sterling Heights)

Nicole Lutomski – Greenwood Elementary School (St. Clair Shores)

Nicole Schulte – Wass Elementary School (Troy)

Patricia Cusumano – Beacon Tree Elementary School (Shelby Township)

Rebecca Allen – Beacon Tree Elementary School (Shelby Township)

Rhonda Faycurry – Simonds Elementary School (Madison Heights)

Sharon DaPra – Huron Academy (Sterling Heights)

Stacy Witkowski – Simonds Elementary School (Madison Heights)

Stefanie Taylor – Beacon Tree Elementary School (Shelby Township)

Sue Culver – Simonds Elementary School (Madison Heights)

Tammy Powell – Huron Academy (Sterling Heights)

Teresa Greenwell – Maple Lane Elementary School (Sterling Heights)

Terri Havers – Paul A. Schalm Elementary School (Clawson)

Tom Torrento – Lincoln High School (Warren)

Torrie Maas – University High School Academy (Lathrup Village)

Tracy Allen – Kaiser Elementary School (Roseville)

Tracy Bigelow – Adlai E. Stevenson High School (Sterling Heights)

Tracy Cline – Simonds Elementary School (Madison Heights)

Whitney White – Harmon Elementary School (St. Clair Shores)

About Michigan Schools & Government Credit Union

Founded by a small group of educators, MSGCU has been providing quality financial services to the community for more than 60 years. MSGCU offers a full range of loan, deposit, checking, credit card, mortgage, and insurance products for those that live in lower Michigan. With 14 offices in Macomb, Oakland and Wayne Counties, MSGCU has more than 125,000 members, $1.9 billion in assets, and has earned a 97% member satisfaction rating for the past ten years. MSGCU has also earned five stars, as reported by Bauer Financial, for more than 20 years, and has been honored as a Top Workplace by The Detroit Free Press five years in a row. For more information contact Emily Boulton, Marketing Communications Specialist at and 586.263.8800 ext. 571.


Emily Boulton
Marketing Communications Specialist
Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union
4555 Investment Drive
Troy, Michigan 48098
Phone (586) 263-8800, ext. 571

More News