Minn. Credit Unions Show Support for Legislators, Gain Election Insight

Kelli Sandhurst
(800) 477-1034, (651) 288-5503

ST. PAUL, Minn. – The Governmental Affairs team at the Minnesota Credit Union Network (MnCUN) hosted several gatherings earlier this month to connect credit union leaders with state legislators and to show support for the campaigns of credit union-friendly candidates.

During each of the four informal meetings, credit union representatives and MnCUN staff had the opportunity to meet with legislators and learn their perspectives on issues being debated ahead of the upcoming elections. The MnCUN Governmental Affairs team also presented check contributions to four legislative groups, which included the House Republican Campaign Committee, the Minnesota House DFL Caucus, the Senate GOP Caucus and the Senate DFL Caucus.

“As part of our political advocacy efforts, the Network believes in helping to elect and retain credit-union friendly legislators,” said Mara Humphrey, MnCUN Vice President – Governmental Affairs. “Minnesota credit unions have enjoyed generous support from both political parties, and these meetings were a chance to show our thanks and appreciation.”

The group of credit union leaders and Network staff also impressed upon lawmakers that they help their constituents by supporting legislation that supports credit unions. The group stressed that through their political advocacy efforts, the state’s credit unions are looking out for consumers’ best interests.

“Our credit unions take pride in the ‘people helping people’ philosophy. At the Network, we continue to evaluate candidates for all statewide offices on their understanding of credit union issues and their ability to support credit unions and their mission to best serve members,” said MnCUN Political Advocacy Director Ryan Smith.

Legislators who attended the MnCUN-sponsored gatherings included House Speaker Kurt Zellers (R-Maple Grove), House Majority Leader Matt Dean (R-Dellwood), House Minority Leader Paul Thissen (DFL-Minneapolis), Rep. Joe Atkins (DFL-Inver Grove Heights), Senate Majority Leader Dave Senjem (R-Rochester), Senate Minority Leader Tom Bakk (DFL-Cook), Sen. Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope) and Sen. Chris Eaton (DFL-Brooklyn Center).

The Minnesota Credit Union Network is an organization representing the state’s 137 not-for-profit cooperative credit unions serving more than 1.5 million member-owners in Minnesota. For more information, visit

More News