Mountain Credit Union designates Bob Cathey as Director Emeritus

WAYNESVILLE, NC (April 30, 2024) — Mountain Credit Union is proud to announce the designation of Bob Cathey as Director Emeritus, in recognition of his outstanding contributions and leadership during his tenure on the Board of Directors.

Bob Cathey served as a Director of Mountain Credit Union from May 1984 through July 2022, and notably, as Chairman from May 1986 through July 2022. Throughout his tenure, Bob exemplified unwavering dedication, setting a high standard for his fellow board members, and advocating tirelessly for the members of Mountain Credit Union.

Joey Webb, Jr., Chairman of the Mountain Credit Union Board of Directors, expressed his gratitude, stating, “Bob Cathey’s commitment to the mission and values of Mountain Credit Union has been exceptional. His leadership, wisdom, and dedication have left an indelible mark on our organization, and we are honored to recognize him as Director Emeritus.”

The designation of Director Emeritus is conferred in accordance with a new amendment to Mountain Credit Union’s Bylaws, acknowledging Bob Cathey’s significant contributions and ensuring that he continues to be a valued member of the Mountain Credit Union community. With his family in attendance, the presentation of the resolution was made to Mr. Cathey during Mountain Credit Union’s 61st Annual Meeting on April 25, 2024.

Bob Cathey expressed his gratitude for the honor, stating, “It has been a privilege to serve Mountain Credit Union and its members for nearly four decades. I am deeply honored by this designation and look forward to continuing to support the credit union in any way I can.”

Mountain Credit Union extends its heartfelt appreciation and congratulations to Bob Cathey on this well-deserved recognition and looks forward to his continued involvement in shaping the future of the credit union.

Children including Dr. Laura Hart, Jon Cathey, Robin Bennett, with Bob Cathey and wife, Julie Cathey

About Mountain Credit Union

Mountain Credit Union currently has seven branch offices located throughout Western North Carolina and serves anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school in Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Swain, and Transylvania Counties of North Carolina. For more information, please visit


Chris Angel
Tel: 828-558-2163

More News