MSGCU announces 2024 scholarship program honorees

The credit union has provided over $1.2 million in awards since the program’s inception

CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI (May 1, 2024) — Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union (MSGCU) is awarding more than $110,000 in scholarships to 47 Michigan residents this year. MSGCU reviewed hundreds of applications and is proud to award 29 students and four educators with $2,500 scholarships. The credit union also funds $2,000 scholarships for 14 future first responders from local community colleges.

MSGCU’s scholarship program was created 20 years ago to assist high school students pursuing higher education. It has grown to include scholarships for future teachers, current educators advancing their skills, and those seeking careers in skilled trades and as first responders. The credit union’s scholarship program illustrates its commitment to helping local students build a strong financial future with less student loan debt.

“MSGCU’s mission is rooted in promoting financial success and our scholarship program allows us to reduce the monetary burden on students as they work toward their career goals,” said Steve Brewer, MSGCU President/CEO. “Awarding scholarships is our way of giving back to the communities we serve, while also honoring our educational heritage and the group of teachers who started the credit union 70 years ago.”

MSGCU selects scholarship honorees that demonstrate academic excellence, a passion for community service, and the dedication that’s needed to pursue higher education. MSGCU starts accepting applications for its scholarship program in January each year.

2024 Scholarship Honorees

The William Cayen Skilled Trades Scholarship is named after current Board Vice Chairperson, William Cayen, who has a passion for helping students achieve their dreams and follow their passions. William Cayen has served on the MSGCU Board for more than 50 years. He retired from public education after serving 35 years as a teacher, counselor, and high school principal. The William Cayen Skilled Trades Scholarship was established in 2019 to help offset the cost of a certificate program in carpentry, electrical, construction, HVAC, machining, or other industrial skilled trades, which are in high demand in Michigan.

The two recipients of the William Cayen Skilled Trades Scholarship are:

  • Ethan Lacroix, Macomb Community College
  • McKenzie Waddell, Washtenaw Community College

The Rudolph Heino High School Scholarship is named in honor of the late Rudolph C. Heino. Mr. Heino served as a dedicated Board Member for 28 years and retired as a principal from the Roseville School District, where he served for 32 years. In 2004, MSGCU established a scholarship program to honor his commitment and tenure of service to both the educational and credit union communities. The Rudolph Heino High School Scholarship recognizes high school seniors committed to inspiring others through service and leadership and upholding the credit union philosophy of people helping people.

The five recipients of the Rudolph Heino High School Scholarship are:

  • Stefan Dredetean, Rochester High School
  • Julia Gurne, Notre Dame Prep High School
  • Ashni Kansara, International Academy Bloomfield Hills High School
  • Nathan Sparschu, Port Huron Northern High School
  • Chandler Williams, Stevenson High School (Utica)

The Larry Swantek Educational Studies Scholarship is named in honor of the late Lawrence F. Swantek, who served on the Board for 32 years. Mr. Swantek retired from teaching in the Lake Shore School District where he served as a teacher, a computer consultant, and an administrator. MSGCU established a scholarship in 2012 to honor his dedication and passion as an educator. The Larry Swantek Educational Studies Scholarship recognizes high school seniors and current college students committed to pursuing the field of education as a career.

The four recipients of the Larry Swantek Educational Studies Scholarship are:

  • Anna Bonser, Western Michigan University
  • Mack Notar, University of Findlay
  • Jacob Kantzer, Rochester Adams High School
  • Jack Kelly, Troy Athens High School

The Milo Perreault Educator Advantage Scholarship is named in honor of the late Milo J. Perreault, who served on the MSGCU Board for 24 years. His passion for education was demonstrated in his 40-year tenure at Fraser High School where he mentored countless students and became a pillar in the school community. Established in 2015 and renamed to honor Mr. Perreault in 2020, the Milo Perreault Educator Advantage scholarship is designed for educators and administrators to help cover the costs of continuing education while honoring a commitment to advancing their skills.

The four recipients of the Milo Perreault Educator Advantage Scholarship are:

  • Taylor Antoski, Western Michigan University
  • Stacy Krzyminski, University of Dayton
  • Michael Moore, Eastern Virginia Medical School
  • Dawn Urban, Oakland University

The Educational Solutions Scholarship is designed for high school seniors planning to attend a two- or four-year college or university. The scholarship helps offset the cost of earning a degree while celebrating higher education’s ability to change lives for the better.

The 18 recipients of the Educational Solutions Scholarship are:

  • Ally Baranick, Northville High School
  • Joshua Byars, Henry Ford II High School
  • Drake Demaris, Cousino High School
  • Brandon DeVos, Memphis High School
  • Daniella Dordeski, Eisenhower High School
  • Leonardo Durasevic, Dakota High School
  • Renee Farley, Dakota High School
  • Brianna Johnson, Troy Athens High School
  • Khushleen Khehra, Sterling Heights High School
  • Pradham Kuchipudi, Churchill High School
  • Avery Lee, Dakota High School
  • Avery Lemley, Eisenhower High School
  • Jonathan Manela, North Farmington High School
  • Matthew Misch, Richmond High School
  • Annaliese Nelson, Homeschool
  • Junha Park, Troy High School
  • Cameron Raupp, Henry Ford II High School
  • Massimo Todesco, Grosse Pointe North High School

In addition to MSGCU’s educational, skilled trades, and continuing education scholarships, the credit union provides the Stephen Thomas First Responder Scholarship. The scholarship is named in honor of the late Stephen E. Thomas, who served on the MSGCU Board for 21 years. He was a Vietnam War Veteran, a retired Sergeant of the Macomb County Sheriff Department, and retired as the Administrator of the Special Investigation Unit for Michigan Basic Property Insurance Association. A total of $28,000 in scholarships will be awarded to cadets enrolled in the fire and/or police academies at Macomb Community, Oakland Community, Washtenaw Community, and Schoolcraft Colleges.

Visit to learn more about the scholarship program and this year’s recipients.

About Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union

Founded by a small group of educators, MSGCU has been providing quality financial services to the communities they serve for 70 years and welcomes everyone in Michigan to bank with them. MSGCU offers a full range of loan, deposit, checking, credit card, mortgage, and insurance products for those that live in Michigan. With 22 branch offices in Macomb, Oakland, Washtenaw, and Wayne Counties, MSGCU has more than 145,000 members, $3.6 billion in assets, and has earned a 97% member satisfaction rating for more than 20 years. MSGCU has also earned five stars (the highest rating) from Bauer Financial for more than 30 years, and has been honored as a Top Workplace by the Detroit Free Press for the past 11 consecutive years. MSGCU is insured by NCUA and an equal housing lender. Visit for more information.


Tricia Marion
Marketing Communications Specialist II
Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union
4555 Investment Drive
Troy, MI 48098
P: (586) 263-8800, ext. 519

More News