Six influential leaders inducted into the Louisiana Credit Union Hall of Fame

HARAHAN, LA (August 5, 2021) — The Louisiana Credit Union League (LCUL), the state trade association and leading advocate for Louisiana credit unions, inducted six exceptional individuals into the Louisiana Credit Union Hall of Fame during the opening ceremonies of their 2021 annual meeting and convention in New Orleans on August 5.

Jointly sponsored by LCUL and the Louisiana Credit Union Foundation, this prestigious program has been established in order to recognize the valuable leadership, commitment, dedication, and contributions of credit union professionals and volunteers throughout the state.
The 2021 inductees include:
Linda Bankston

St. Tammany CU (Covington, LA)

Charles Holdeman

Post Office Employees CU (Metairie, LA)

Joleen Martin

Centric FCU (Monroe, LA)

Betty Mitchell-Chretien

Southwest Louisiana CU (Lake Charles, LA)

Harold E. ‘Budd’ Manuel

Louisiana FCU (Laplace, LA)

Elaine Prewett

St. Tammany CU (Covington, LA)

A $500 donation on behalf of the inductee was made to the Louisiana Credit Union Foundation to help foster educational programs for credit unions as well as monetary support sufficient to provide resources during times of natural disasters. To date, more than 100 trailblazers have been inducted into the Louisiana Credit Union Hall of Fame raising nearly $60,000 for the Louisiana Foundation since its inception.

“This Hall of Fame program allows us to share these stories, map our future, and honor our traditions. Inductees inspire future generations to push boundaries and create breakthroughs that will positively impact our movement statewide,” commented Bob Gallman, LCUL President/CEO.

Click here for a complete listing of Louisiana Credit Union Hall of Fame Inductees to date.

About Louisiana Credit Union League

The Louisiana Credit Union League (LCUL) is a nonprofit, professional trade association that exists to serve credit unions in Louisiana. LCUL is dedicated, through cooperation, to promote, protect and perpetuate the credit union movement. For additional information, visit


Angela Melle
Sr. Director, Communications & Education
(800) 452-7221, ext. 3007

More News