SKY Federal Credit Union & Montana DECA took action to engage & educate students through first annual Virtual Game-Of-Life

LIVINGSTON, MT (June 4, 2021) — SKY Federal Credit Union (SKY FCU) and Montana DECA recently partnered to host the first annual Virtual Game-Of-Life, a virtual financial reality fair that was free for all high-school students in the state. There were 2,547 high school students from 93 schools that participated in the inaugural event.

“The response and interest we received from participating students was phenomenal,” said Anna DeYoung, president and CEO at SKY FCU. “Our credit union is always looking for ways to provide financial education to all members of our community and we believe that investing in our youth is one of the best investments we can make. We look forward to hosting this game for many years to come!”

SKY FCU held the game on an interactive online platform that they purchased specifically for the event. Students had the opportunity to navigate the various challenges and uncertainty of daily living, from getting a job and buying a car, to purchasing insurance and owning a home. Participating students spent an average of 32 minutes working through the simulation with the help of over 40 volunteers from the credit union, Montana DECA, and DECA business connections.

A participating student said that the activity was “quick, easy, and full of great information.” While another remarked that the exercise was very helpful and went on to say, “Wow life is not cheap, and I appreciate what my parents do for me and my sister.”

About SKY Federal Credit Union

Sky Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative providing the best service to their most important assets — our members. They have been serving members’ banking needs since 1935. Sky is community chartered, which allows them to serve anyone who lives, works, or worships in the rural district of Beaverhead, Broadwater, Carbon, Cascade, Deer Lodge, Gallatin, Golden Valley, Granite, Jefferson, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Madison, Meagher, Mineral, Missoula, Park, Powell, Ravalli, Silver Bow, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Wheatland or Yellowstone Counties, Montana, or Bonneville, Fremont, Jefferson, or Madison Counties, Idaho, or Park County, Wyoming.


D: 801-983-8484   M: 402-297-2009

More News