Summit Credit Union Awards Three Scholarships To Area Students

For more information, contact:
Cheryl Van Tessier, Finesse Public Relations LLC
(608) 467-4408,

Amy Crowe, Summit Credit Union  
(608) 243-5000×2834


MADISON, Wis. —   Recipients include:

  • Mary Siedlecki Honorarium Scholarship, awarded to Nelson Auner, of Madison.  Auner is a 2010 graduate of East High School, Madison, Wis., and is attending University of Chicago in Fall 2010.
  • Volunteer Board of Directors Scholarship, awarded to Carmel Morgan-Weisberg, of Middleton, Wis.  Morgan-Weisberg earned her bachelor of arts degree in music at Lawrence University in 2008 and is a 2004 graduate of Middleton High School.  She is a first year Arts Administration graduate student at Indiana University Bloomington.
  • Volunteer Board of Directors Scholarship, awarded to Christopher Braatz, of Waunakee, Wis.  Braatz is a 2010 graduate of Waunakee High School and is attending University of Pennsylvania in Fall 2010.

Nearly 50 students applied for the scholarships this year, and recipients were chosen based on grade point averages, extracurricular activities, community activities, employment experience and an essay on “The Credit Union Difference.”  

 “Summit Credit Union is committed to giving back to the community and we are pleased to provide scholarships to this year’s very deserving recipients,” said Jim Hoelzel, Summit Credit Union Board of Directors Chairman.  “Through these annual scholarships, we have been able to help more than 20 area students pursue quality higher education – a winning combination for both the students and the community.”

About Summit Credit Union:

Established in 1935, Summit Credit Union is a member-owned financial cooperative open to anyone in Wisconsin.  Summit holds $1.4 billion in assets and has more than 108,000 members with a total of 20 locations throughout the Madison and Milwaukee areas.   For more information, visit or call (608) 243-5000 or (800) 236-5560.

More News