Apple FCU awards scholarships

FAIRFAX, VA (May 29, 2014) — Apple Federal Credit Union’s dedication to the advancement and impact of education in the Northern Virginia community was heightened in 2014 thanks to the institution’s philanthropic arm, the Apple FCU Education Foundation. On May 29, at a gala breakfast program, 36 high school seniors from nine different counties were each awarded a $4,000 college scholarship.

Because the Foundation believes that strong communities are built through individual contributions, the scholarships are awarded to students who have demonstrated a commitment to helping their school and/or community. This year’s 36 “Apple Scholars” were selected from over 400 applications that were reviewed by a committee of 30 judges from the Apple FCU membership community.

This year’s Apple Scholars and their high schools are




Delilah Ampeh Potomac Falls High School
Alexis Amundson Woodgrove High School
Jei-Si Ang West Springfield High School
Liam Arne Osbourn High School
Lucas Artze-de Toledo Brooke Point High School
Lena Bell Bishop McNamara High School
Alexander Boelcskevy Herndon High School
Courtney Boone Stonewall Jackson High School
Lori Bowler Stone Bridge High School
Cesar Chavez-Martinez Mountain View High School (Fairfax)
Tiffany Chong Marshall High School
Alissa Clayton Herndon High School
Caris Cole Broad Run High School
Alaina Combs Sherando High School
Kendall Dalkiewicz Patriot High School
Zak DePasquale Robinson Secondary School
Jennifer Dorick Osbourn Park High School
Arzan Dotivala Potomac Falls High School
Kaia Dunne Stuart High School
Megan Ganley Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology
Jorge Gonzalez Mejia Osbourn High School
Ankit Goyal Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology
Casey Heinlein Millbrook High School
Megan Lengel W.T. Woodson High School
Andrew Lins John Handley High School
Blake Morgan Herndon High School
Makena Murugu Flint Hill High School
Veronica Nguyen West Springfield High School
Jean Paula Salac Lake Braddock Secondary School
Kaleb Scott Fauquier High School
Anju Subedi Fairfax High School
Cherry Takawi Chantilly High School
Doreen Tetteh Annandale High School
Niara Thom North Stafford High School
Nicholas Western Robinson Secondary School
Karen Xia Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology

To learn more about the Apple FCU Education Foundation, visit or contact Mike Engley at 571-321-1800. For more information on Apple Federal Credit Union and its products and services, call 703-788-4800, or visit

Apple Federal Credit Union’s Mission

Through a lifelong partnership with anyone touched by education, Apple FCU helps members achieve their dreams by offering competitive financial solutions, with dedicated personal service. Apple exists, not for profit, but for the benefit of its members.

More News