Ascentra Credit Union awards $10,000 in scholarships

BETTENDORF, IA (May 17, 2019) — The academic accomplishments of ten area students have been recognized by the 2019 Ascentra Scholarship Program.  These ten future leaders were selected to receive $1,000 each to help offset the rising costs of attending a college or university and get one step closer to achieving their academic goals.

Ascentra Credit Union is committed to supporting education initiatives in the community.  Every year, a total of $10,000 in scholarships is given to ten of their members.  Five $1,000 scholarships are awarded to traditional high school students planning to enter college, and the other five $1,000 scholarships are awarded to non-traditional students age 19 or over planning to attend college, trade school, or even to earn an advanced degree.  The Ascentra Scholarship Program is unique in that students can apply every year they are enrolled as a student.

This year’s high school scholarship winners include:

  • Grant Florence, Rock Island, Illinois
  • Destiny Williams, Muscatine, Iowa
  • Esmee Belzer, Davenport, Iowa
  • Madison Knutsen, Clinton, Iowa
  • Sophia Sneddon, Fruitland, Iowa

The non-traditional or continuing education winners include:

  • Christian Elliot, Blue Grass, Iowa
  • Emma Kitteringham, Clinton, Iowa
  • Gabrielle VanderVinne, Bettendorf, Iowa
  • Karly Lent, Bettendorf, Iowa
  • Kathleen Byrne, Bettendorf, Iowa

All entries are judged on their essay, resume, awards, extracurricular activities, volunteer services and work experience.  The competition is announced every October with the deadline in March of the following year.

“The efforts these students put in to paying for higher education by applying for scholarships is remarkable,” said Alvaro Macias, Ascentra VP of Business Development.  “Especially when you see individuals capitalize on the unique continuous opportunities offered by our scholarship program structure and win the scholarship a second time.”

Learn more about this year’s scholarship winners, the official Ascentra Scholarship Program rules and other scholarship opportunities at

About Ascentra Credit Union

Founded in 1950, Ascentra Credit Union, is Iowa's premier credit union with more than $535 million in assets and nine branches serving the communities of Bettendorf, Clinton, Davenport, Muscatine, Iowa and Moline, Ill. Learn more about Ascentra Credit Union at  Follow Ascentra on Facebook, Twitter @ascentra, Instagram @ascentracuLinkedIn and YouTube.


Ascentra Credit Union:
Jennifer Naeve, Senior Vice President, Chief Marketing Officer
Phone: 563-459-6952

Barry Shaw, Marketing Manager
Phone: 563-459-6909

Rejuvenate Housing, Inc.:
Scott Dahlke, Executive Director
Phone: 252-204-1530

More News