Central Texas high school and college students awarded $100,000 in scholarships from A+FCU

AUSTIN, TX (May 27, 2020) — The A+ Federal Credit Union (A+FCU) Board of Directors awarded 50 Central Texas high school and college students with $100,000 in scholarships for the 2020-2021 school year.

The scholarships have been an A+FCU tradition since 1984, and this is the second consecutive year $100,000 has been awarded. Each student receives $2,000 to help with educational expenses.

“We’re very proud of these students and everything they’ve accomplished,” said Terry Lord, A+FCU Board Member and Chair of the Scholarship Committee. “They’ve faced so many challenges and a lot of adversity in 2020. While we can’t celebrate them in person, we’re excited to see what their future holds and wish them the best.”

The 50 recipients were selected for their academic achievements and community involvement and represent five colleges and 27 high schools.

“When I found out I won the scholarship, I was surprised and honored,” said scholarship recipient Mark Lopez. “I didn’t think I stood a chance against many other applicants, but I’m proud to have earned some money for school.”

In previous years, A+FCU hosted receptions where students were awarded their scholarships with A+FCU employees, board members, and family present. Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, this year’s event has been canceled. Instead, the winners will be recognized virtually via a social media video and have a certificate mailed to them.

2020 Collegiate Students – Education Majors

Recipient College Major
Jessica Enyioha Texas State University Education
Mistie Goains Lamar University Education
Patrick Pollard Austin Community College Education
Claire Schmidt The University of Texas at Austin Education
Constanza Serna The University of Texas at Austin Education
Craig Sowell Northcentral University Education

2020 High School Students – Education Majors

Recipient College Major
Emma Daughtrey Round Rock High School Education
Abbi Gordon Leander High School Education
Kaitlyn Harber Lockhart High School Education
Sarah Kalina Lake Travis High School Education
Kaitlin Mackey Hendrickson High School Education
Emma Morelli Lake Travis High School Education
Landry Rogers Salado High School Education
Quinn Summers The Kiski School Education
Kara Travers Ridge Point High School Education
James Williams Brownwood High School Education

2020 High School Students – Non-Education Majors

Recipient College Major
Cody Bagwell Tom Glenn High School Bioenvironmental Science
Fatima Barati McNeil High School Merchandising/Digital Retail
Amber Billingsley Georgetown High School Nursing
Rawan Channaa Hutto High School Psychology
Jared Cook Weiss High School Nursing
Rhea Dharwadker Bowie High School Biomedical Engineering
Katie Eiben San Marcos High School Nursing
Bryce Favor Three Rivers High School Business Administration
Kevin Fernandez Hutto High School Electrical Engineering
Haley Frazer Round Rock High School Political Science
Gunnar Gentry Crockett High School Economics
Joshua Gonzalez Hutto High School Computer Science
Talia Hanley Bowie High School Business/Accounting
Maxton Huff Westlake High School Computer Science
Peter Ikonomopoulos Lake Travis High School Mechanical Engineering
Victoria Lamas Idea Montopolis Nursing
Mark Lopez McCallum High School Architecture
John Mejia Hutto High School Electrical and Computer Engineering
David Mojica Pflugerville High School Computer Science
Kamryn Owens Round Rock High School Marketing
Melina Padron Connally High School Neuroscience
Emoni Patino San Marcos High School Pre-Pharmacy
Javier Pena Tom Glenn High School Automotive Technology
Melanie Pina Akins High School Forensics Science Counseling
Corbin Preusse Thorndale High School Ag Business
Gabriel Sanchez San Marcos High School Mechanical Engineering
Mia Sanchez Round Rock High School Biology Pre-Med
Elvia Saucedo-Davis Northeast Early College High School Wildlife Biology
Unique Shanklin Akins High School Criminology
Collette Sprague McNeil High School Veterinary and Biomedical Science
Jeremy Tietz Round Rock High School Mechanical Engineering
Heidi Tonche Torres Akins High School Pre-Law
Giselle Vences Barrueta Del Valle High School Criminology
Jayson Vogelpohl Hutto High School Business


About A+ Federal Credit Union

A+ Federal Credit Union was founded in 1949 by 50 Austin, Texas teachers. Over seventy years later, A+FCU has over 168,000 members throughout the community, with over $1.9 billion in assets, over 460 employees, and 22 branches. A+FCU continues to have close relationships with local schools and provides free financial education curricula for educators, engaging financial education presentations for students, real-life money management simulations for youth, high school branch locations, and unique financial products designed for teachers. Learn more at


Lauren Kelly
AVP Marketing
512.302.6814 |

More News