Gerber Federal Credit Union awards scholarships

(May 28, 2015) — Gerber Federal Credit Union awarded a total of $1,750 as a result of its Second Annual Essay Scholarship program.  Entrants were asked to explain “The Value of Saving” in 300-500 words.  Entries were accepted from Gerber Federal Credit Union members currently attending their senior year of high school and planning to attend an accredited technical school, community college, trade school, four-year accredited college or university, or an apprentice program.

Jordyn Homeier from Farmington High School in Farmington, MN is the First Place winner.  She was awarded $1,000 and publication of her essay in the Gerber FCU quarterly member newsletter.  Yvonne Boeskool from Fremont High School in Fremont, MI is the Second Place winner and was awarded $500.  Maria Feldpausch from White Cloud High School in White Cloud, MI is the Third Place Winner and was awarded $250.

1st Place Winner Jordyn HomeierLeft-Maria Feldpausch 3rd, Right - John Buckley
Left-Yvonne Boeskool 2nd, Right-John Buckley












John Buckley, President/CEO of Gerber Federal Credit Union, says education is one of the credit union’s core values.  “Financial education begins with the first allowance or birthday check from Grandma and then continues throughout the rest of our lives.  We are committed to providing programs that improve our member’s financial well-being at every stage of life and are extremely proud to support young members planning to continue their educations.”

Essays were submitted by email and mail.  Our panel of judges included four educators from various school districts and a member of management from the local hospital.  Judges evaluated the essays after all identifying information or reference to school district was removed.  The essays were evaluated on Topical Relevance, Quality of Writing and Punctuation & Spelling.

For more details regarding Gerber Federal Credit Union’s Annual Essay Scholarship, visit and watch the quarterly member newsletter Dollars & Sense for 2016 entry requirements.

More News