Greater Abbeville Federal Credit Union awards $1,200 in grants to local teachers

ABBEVILLE, SC (August 15, 2014) — Greater Abbeville Federal Credit Union would like to congratulate the winners of their Second Annual GAFCU Teacher Grant. One winner was selected from each school in Abbeville County, for a total of $1,200 in grants.

The winners of the $100 grants were announced at the District “Welcome Back” Ceremony at the beginning of August, as well as one grand prize winner for the amount of $500. The 2014 Teacher Grant winners were:

Abbeville High School – Joyce Bush

Wright Middle School – George Jordan

Westwood Elementary – Ramey Crawford

Long Cane Primary – Patricia Davis

Dixie High School – Heyni Barrios

Cherokee Trail Elementary – Nora Gail Johnson

John C Calhoun Elementary – Marty Cann

Abbeville Career Center – Pamela Varnish (Grand Prize Winner, $500)

“Our mission is to provide financial hope to Abbeville County,” said Faye Crocker, GAFCU’s CEO. “We are very pleased to extend this opportunity to help our teachers who spend a lot of their own money in preparing the next generation of Abbeville County residents.”

Teachers from Abbeville County schools applied by writing a brief paragraph describing how they would spend an extra $100 in their classrooms and how their students would benefit from the grant. The teachers submitted many excellent applications, their plans for projects ranging from supplying new books for the classroom to equipment for a hospitality class at the Career Center.

Greater Abbeville Federal Credit Union is a member-owned financial cooperative with membership open to anyone who lives, works, worships or attends school in Abbeville County. Founded in 1972 by employees of Flexible Tubing Industries, today the credit union has over 2,000 members and assets of over $13million.

More News