Hawaii State FCU announces board of directors election results

The credit union appoints Dawn Kurisu and Grant Tanimoto, and reelects Terrance Aratani, Kaulana Park, and Mark Yamakawa to its nine-member board

HONOLULU, HI (March 30, 2023)

Hawaii State Federal Credit Union (Hawaii State FCU) today announced that Dawn Kurisu, assistant vice president of community and government relations at Hawaii Medical Service Association (HMSA), has been elected to its volunteer Board of Directors to serve a three-year term. Grant Tanimoto, a private practice attorney, has been elected back to the board after a short break, while Terrance Aratani, CEO of Ko’olauloa Health Center, Kaulana Park, an associate at Rider Levett Bucknall, and Mark Yamakawa, senior vice president at HMSA, have been reelected, effective March 2023. Tanimoto and Yamakawa will each serve new three-year terms, Park will serve a new two-year term, and Aratani will serve a one-year term.

“We’re pleased to welcome Dawn to our esteemed board of directors. Her experience in organizational strategy and community relations will greatly benefit our credit union,” said Andrew Rosen, president, and CEO of Hawaii State FCU. “I also want to welcome back Grant, who rejoins the board after a break in service, and congratulate Terrence, Kaulana, and Mark on their reelections. As Hawaii State FCU has experienced significant growth, we chose to expand our volunteer board from seven to nine directors. I look forward to working with our board to continue to serve our 125,000 members and the Hawaii community.”

Dawn KurisuAssistant Vice President of Community and Government Relations, HMSA

A member of Hawaii State FCU for 35 years, Kurisu is currently the assistant vice president of community and government relations at HMSA. Her extensive background includes experience working in education as an elementary school teacher, a school administrator and spent more than five years at Parents and Children Together, a non-profit that provides social services to Hawaii’s most vulnerable residents. Kurisu received her bachelor’s degree in education from Chaminade University and her Master of Education from the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa.

Grant TanimotoPrivate Practice Attorney

Tanimoto previously held a Hawaii State FCU board of director seat from 2013 to 2022 and has been a member of the credit union since 1979. He is a private practice attorney and a former state employee. Tanimoto held several positions within his 31 years in state government, including general counsel for the Campaign Spending Commission, acting director for the tax department and deputy attorney general.

Reelected board of directors:

Terrance ArataniCEO, Ko‘olauloa Health Center

Aratani has been a member of Hawaii State FCU for more than 40 years and has served on the board of directors for nine years as board chair, secretary and treasurer. He is currently the CEO of Ko‘olauloa Health Center. Aratani worked at the Hawai‘i State Legislature for more than 25 years during which time he became chief of staff for the Hawai‘i State Senate.

Kaulana ParkAssociate, Rider Levett Bucknall

The current chairman of the board, Kaulana Park has been a member of Hawaii State FCU for 12 years and has served as a board member for nine years. He is an associate at Rider Levett Bucknall, and has extensive experience in lending and finance, marketing and human resources through his time at American Savings Bank, Department of Hawaiian Home Lands, Office of Hawaiian Affairs, and First Hawaiian Bank.

Mark YamakawaSenior Vice President, HMSA

Mark Yamakawa has been a member at Hawaii State FCU for more than 25 years and has served on the board of directors since 2020. Prior to serving as senior vice president at HMSA, he was the president and CEO of Hawaii Dental Service and held various leadership positions at The Queen’s Medical Center. He currently serves on the boards of Hawai‘i Pacific Health, ‘Iolani School, Kapi‘olani Medical Center for Women & Children, and St. Francis Healthcare System of Hawaii.

The nine-member board of directors serve on a voluntary basis and work to ensure the success and prosperity of the not-for-profit financial cooperative and its members. Aratani, Kurisu, Park, Tanimoto and Yamakawa and will join Marion Higa, John Katahira, Ryan Morita, and Monica Toguchi Ryan who are currently serving three-years terms on the Hawaii State FCU board.

For a list of Hawaii State FCU branch locations or for more information, please visit

About Hawaii State Federal Credit Union

Hawaii State Federal Credit Union (Hawaii State FCU) was founded in 1936. Serving state, city and county employees as well as non-profits and select businesses and their families across the state, Hawaii State FCU has more than 125,000 members and $2.3 billion in assets. Hawaii State FCU provides financial advising, checking, savings and loan services on Oahu and Maui. For more information, visit


Angela Behm
(808) 523-8802

More News