Hawaii State FCU announces results of board of directors election

HONOLULU, HI (July 10, 2024)Hawaii State Federal Credit Union (Hawaii State FCU) today announced that Brennon Morioka, dean of the College of Engineering at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, and Darren Nakao, executive vice president and chief financial officer at UHA Health Insurance, have been elected to serve on its volunteer board of directors. Monica Toguchi Ryan, owner and president of Highway Inn, has been reelected to the board for her third and final term. Morioka, Nakao and Toguchi Ryan will all serve new three-years terms, effective June 22, 2024.

“We’re pleased to welcome Brennon Morioka and Darren Nakao to our esteemed board of directors. Their wealth of knowledge and commitment to our community will be instrumental as we continue to enhance the financial well-being of our members,” said Andrew Rosen, president, and CEO of Hawaii State FCU. “I also want to congratulate Monica Toguchi Ryan on her reelection to our board. Her commitment and strategic insight over the last six years have been pivotal in driving the growth and success of Hawaii State FCU.”

Brennon MoriokaDean of the College of Engineering at the University of Hawaii at Manoa

A member of Hawaii State FCU for more than 30 years, Morioka is currently the dean of the College of Engineering at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Throughout his career, he has also served as the director for the State Department of Transportation, deputy director of the Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation, and an executive with Hawaiian Electric Company, CH2M Hill, and Shioi Construction. Over the last 25 years, Morioka has served on numerous government, private, and non-profit boards.

Darren NakaoExecutive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer at UHA Health Insurance

Nakao has more than 25 years of leadership experience in finance and healthcare operations, currently serving as the executive vice president and chief financial officer at UHA Health Insurance where he oversees revenues exceeding $345 million. He has extensive experience in financial reporting, audit, and risk management within a heavily regulated sector. Nakao received his bachelor’s degree in mathematical economics from Brown University.

Monica Toguchi RyanOwner and President of Highway Inn

Toguchi Ryan is a third-generation owner of Highway Inn, a Hawaiian food establishment that is one of the largest woman-owned businesses in Hawaii and the largest Hawaiian food restaurant in the state. She has extensive experience operating and developing growth opportunities for small businesses. Toguchi Ryan is a former recipient of Hawaii State FCU’s annual scholarship program and had been a member of the credit union for more than 25 years. She has served on the Hawaii State FCU board of directors since 2018 and is the current vice chairman.

The nine-member board of directors serve on a voluntary basis and work to ensure the success and prosperity of the not-for-profit financial cooperative and its members. Morioka, Nakao and Toguchi Ryan will join Marion Higa, John Katahira, Dawn Kurisu, Kaulana Park, Grant Tanimoto, and Mark Yamakawa who are currently serving three-years terms on the Hawaii State FCU board.

For a list of Hawaii State FCU branch locations or for more information, please visit

About Hawaii State Federal Credit Union

Hawaii State Federal Credit Union (Hawaii State FCU) was founded in 1936. Serving state, city and county employees as well as non-profits and select businesses and their families across the state, Hawaii State FCU has more than 120,000 members and $2.3 billion in assets. Hawaii State FCU provides financial advising, checking, savings and loan services on Oahu and Maui. For more information, visit


Angela Behm
(808) 523-8802

More News