Honor CU awards $3,000 to local teachers with 5th Annual Teacher Awards

SAINT JOSEPH, MI (November 25, 2014) — Continuing their support and dedication to local education, Honor Credit Union is excited to announce the winners of the 5th Annual Teacher Awards. Aimed at supporting the local teachers that already invest so much of their own time, funds, and energy into their classrooms, Honor’s Teacher Awards give winning teachers each $100 to put toward their classroom. More than doubling the previous year’s number of submissions with a total of 188 applications from 35 school districts, Honor Credit Union diligently sorted through every entry and selected 30 teachers to each win $100 for their classroom. Teachers applied for the $100 with submissions that ranged from additional books for classroom reading to culinary supplies for hands on food and cultural lessons!

The 30 winners of the 5th Annual Honor Credit Union Teacher Awards are:

  • Bangor Public Schools – Cindy Phillips
  • Benton Harbor Area Schools – Marlis Campbell
  • Cassopolis Public Schools – Kelly Hargrove
  • Coldwater Community Schools – Shalen King
  • Coloma Community Schools – Connie Rodriguez
  • Decatur Public Schools – Kattie Northrup
  • Dowagiac Union Schools – Jeff Robinson
  • Galesburg-Augusta Middle School – Karmina Bryant
  • Grace Christian Schools – Jodi Thompson
  • Gwinn Area Community Schools – Amanda Noel
  • Gwinn Area Community Schools – Heather Hollands
  • Lake Michigan Catholic – Carolyn Simmons
  • Lakeshore Public Schools – Cassandra Harris
  • Marquette Area Public Schools – Cameron Bancroft
  • Marquette Area Public Schools – Ronda Manninen
  • Mattawan Consoidated Schools – Ann Pierluissi
  • Negaunee Public Schools – Cindy Sue Kendall
  • Negaunee Public Schools – Laruen Veale
  • Negaunee Public Schools – Tristan Palomaki
  • NICE Community Schools – Jim Maki
  • Niles Community Schools – Ariyll Forester
  • North Star Academy – Adam Dompierre
  • North Star Academy – Sarah Johnson
  • Paw Paw Public Schools – Michele Butler
  • Quincy Public Schools – Megan Kempter
  • River Valley Public Schools – Suzanne Jewell
  • Saint Joseph Public Schools – Briana Donohue
  • South Haven Public Schools – Tanya Ebert
  • Trinity Lutheran – Tory Parrish
  • Watervilet Public Schools – Alyssa Konkel

Honor Credit Union is proud to serve more than 51,000 members across the State of Michigan. Providing solutions for financial success and giving back to the communities they serve remain the driving forces behind Honor Credit Union. For more information call 800.442.2800, or visit

More News