Iowa Credit Union League supports Braley for Senate, Branstad for Governor

DUBUQUE, IOWA (September 18, 2014) — During its annual convention being held in Dubuque, the Iowa Credit Union League (ICUL) announced that it is supporting Bruce Braley for United States Senate and Terry Branstad for Governor. In addition, ICUL also announced its support of Pat Murphy for Iowa’s First Congressional District One and Dave Loebsack for Iowa’s Second Congressional District.

“These candidates understand the unique role the credit unions play as non-profit, financial cooperatives. They also have been strong supporters of ensuring credit unions are able to provide their one million Iowa members with needed financial services in a marketplace that is quickly changing. It is with great enthusiasm that we announce our support for these candidates today,” said Patrick S. Jury, CEO/President, ICUL.

“Congressman Braley has been supportive of Iowa’s credit unions since he was first elected to Congress back in 2006. He understands and supports credit unions’ cooperative model and tax structure, and supports providing small businesses with better access to capital by lifting the business lending cap placed on credit unions in federal law. Bruce Braley is a champion for credit union and he will be an outstanding United States Senator,” Jury said.

“Governor Branstad has been a credit union member for decades and understands the value Iowa’s credit unions provide to more than one million members in Iowa. He has consistently stood with us as we seek to provide our members better services while helping them keep more of their own hard-earned money. Iowa’s credit unions have a friend in Governor Terry Branstad,” he said.

In addition to making these endorsements, ICUL also announced it has, to date, supported 102 candidates running for the state legislature, a list is provided below. ICUL’s Advocacy Committee and its non-partisan political action committee, CUPAC, evaluate candidates solely on their support for credit union issues.

“As the trade association for Iowa’s credit unions, we feel it is important to provide this information to our members, so they can make decisions,” Jury said. “The endorsements do not reflect the opinions of individual credit union members or staff.”

2014 CUPAC Supported Candidates
Abdul-Samad, Ako (D – Des Moines)
Anderson, Marti (D – Des Moines)
Finkenauer, Abby (D – Dubuque)
Staed, Art (D – Cedar Rapids)
Bacon, Rob (R – Slater)
Baudler, Clel (R – Greenfield)
Bearinger, Bruce (D – Oelwein)
Bennett, Liz (D – Cedar Rapids)
Berry, Deb (D – Waterloo)
Brown Powers, Timi (D – Waterloo)
Byrnes, Josh (R – Osage)
Cohoon, Dennis (D – Burlington)
Costello, Mark (R – Imogene)
Cownie, Peter (R – West Des Moines)
Dawson, David (D – Sioux City)
Deyoe, Dave (R – Nevada)
Dolecheck, Cecil (R – Mount Ayr)
Drake, Jack (R – Griswold)
Forbes, John (D – Urbandale)
Forristall, Greg (R – Macedonia)
Fry, Joel (R –Osceola)
Gaines, Ruth Ann ( D – Des Moines)
Gaskill, Mary (D – Ottumwa)
Grassley, Pat (R –New Hartford)
Gustafson, Stan (R – Cumming)
Hagenow, Chris (R – Windsor Heights)
Hall, Chris (R – Sioux City)
Hanson, Curt (D – Fairfield)
Hanusa, Mary Ann (D – Council Bluffs)
Heartsill, Greg (R – Chariton)
Heaton, Dave (R- Mt. Pleasant)
Heddens, Lisa (D – Ames)
Hein, Lee (R – Monticello)
Hess, Megan (R – Spencer)
Highfill, Jake (R – Johnston)
Holt, Steve (R – Denison)
Hunter, Bruce (D – Des Moines)
Huseman, Dan (R – Cherokee)
Isenhart, Chuck (D – Dubuque)
Jacoby, Dave (D – Coralville)
Jorgensen, Ron (R – Sioux City)
Kaufmann, Bobby (R – Wilton)
Kearns, Jerry (D – Keokuk)
Kelley, Dan (D – Newton)
Klein, Jarad (R – Keota)
Koester, Kevin (R – Ankeny)
Kressig, Bob (D – Cedar Falls)
Landon, John (R – Ankeny)
Lensing, Vicki (D – Iowa City)
Lundby, Daniel (R – Marion)
Lykam, Jim (D – Davenport)
Mascher, Mary (D – Iowa City)
Maxwell, David (R – Gibson)
McConkey, Charlie (D – Council Bluffs)
Meyer, Brian (D – Des Moines)
Miller, Helen (D – Fort Dodge)
Miller, Linda (R – Bettendorf)
Moore, Brian (R – Bellevue)
Muhlbauer, Dan (D – Manilla)
Oldson, Jo (D – Des Moines)
Olson, Rick (D – Des Moines)
Ourth, Scott (D – Ackworth)
Paulsen, Kraig (R – Hiawatha)
Prichard, Todd (D – Charles City)
Rogers, Walt (D – Waterloo)
Ruff, Patti (D – McGregor)
Running-Marquardt, Kirsten (D- Cedar Rapids)
Sexton, Mike (R – Rockwell City)
Smith, Mark (D – Marshalltown)
Soderberg, Chuck (R – LeMars)
Steckman, Sharon (D – Mason City)
Stutsman, Sally (D – Riverside)
Taylor, Rob (R – West Des Moines)
Taylor, Todd (D – Cedar Rapids)
Thede, Phylis (D – Bettendorf)
Upmeyer, Linda (R – Clear Lake)
Vander Linden, Guy (R – Oskaloosa)
Wessel-Kroeschell, Beth (D – Ames)
Wills, John (R – Spirit Lake)
Winckler, Cindy (D – Davenport)
Wolfe, Mary (D – Clinton)
Wood, Frank (D – Eldridge)
Worthan, Gary (R – Storm Lake)

Anderson, Bill (R – Pierson)
Beall, Daryl (D – Fort Dodge)
Bertrand, Rick (R – Sioux City)
Bisignano, Tony (D – Des Moines)
Bolkcom, Joe (D – Iowa City)
Bowman, Tod (D – Maquoketa)
Chelgren, Mark (R – Ottumwa)
Dix, Bill (R – Shell Rock)
Dotzler, Bill (D – Waterloo)
Dvorsky, Robert (D – Coralville)
Feenstra, Randy (R – Hull)
Hart, Rita (D – Wheatland)
Hogg, Rob (D – Cedar Rapids)
McCoy, Matt (D – Des Moines)
Quirmbach, Herman (D – Ames)
Ragan, Amanda (D – Mason City)
Schultz, Jason (R –Schleswig)
Smith, Roby (R – Bettendorf)
Whitver, Jack (R – Ankeny)

About the Iowa Credit Union League
The Iowa Credit Union League is the trade association that represents the interests of Iowa credit unions and their more than one million members. Credit unions are not-for-profit, financial cooperatives owned and operated by their members. Iowans use their credit union membership to receive higher interest rates on savings and lower interest rates on loans. For more information on ICUL and Iowa credit unions, visit Follow ICUL on Twitter at or on Facebook at more about credit unions, visit

More News