NAFCU Announces Lineup for 2012 Congressional Caucus, Sept. 11-14

Patty Briotta
PR Manager

WASHINGTON – The National Association of Federal Credit Unions (NAFCU) today announced a robust roster of speakers who have already been confirmed for its 38th Annual Congressional Caucus, including nearly a dozen members of Congress, representatives of regulatory agencies and more. The event will be held Sept. 11-14 at the Mayflower Renaissance Hotel, Washington, D.C. The deadline for early registration savings is July 20.

“Credit unions need to be in town to fight for the future of their business model, as talk of tax reform continues to put the credit union tax exemption at risk,” said NAFCU President and CEO Fred R. Becker. “In this political environment, nothing is sacred and as the powerful Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee Max Baucus recently stated, ‘everything is on the table.’”

“Regulatory relief, member business lending, supplemental capital and examination fairness are also among the critical issues that credit unions will be bringing before lawmakers this year,” Becker added.

Tucker Carlson, a contributor on Fox News and editor-in-chief of, will be the keynote speaker. Known for his witty and informed commentary on American politics, Carlson will offer an interesting perspective on the upcoming presidential race. Previously co-host of CNN’s Crossfire, Carlson was the youngest anchor in the history of the network. He has been a columnist for New York magazine and Reader’s Digest and currently writes for Esquire and The New York Times magazine. Carlson’s most recent book is titled Politicians, Partisans and Parasites: My Adventures in Cable News.

NAFCU’s Congressional Caucus is the association’s lobbying event of the year. Although speakers continue to be added to the program, Federal Housing Administration Acting Commissioner Carole Galante and all three NCUA Board members: Chairman Debbie Matz, Board Member Gigi Hyland and Member Michael Fryzel, have been confirmed. Also scheduled to speak are:

  • Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.)
  • Rep. Maxine Waters (D-Calif.)
  • Rep. Peter King (R-N.Y.)
  • Rep. William Lacy Clay Jr. (D-Mo.)
  • Rep. Michael Grimm (R-N.Y.)
  • Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R-Utah)
  • Rep. Sean Duffy (R-Wis.)
  • Rep. Allen West (R-Fla.)
  • Rep. John Barrow (D-Ga.)
  • Rep. Steve Chabot (R-Ohio)
  • Rep. Tom Price (R-Ga.)

For more information about NAFCU’s 2012 Congressional Caucus or to register, please visit

About Us:
The National Association of Federal Credit Unions is the only national organization that focuses exclusively on federal issues affecting credit unions, representing its members before the federal government and the public.

More News