NAFCU Names 2011 Annual Awards Competition Winners

CONTACT:   Patty Briotta

WASHINGTON – The National Association of Federal Credit Unions ( Awards Committee has selected six individuals and two credit unions as winners in its 2011 Annual Awards Competition. The winners will be honored in conjunction with NAFCU’s 44th Annual Conference & Exhibition in San Francisco, June 28 – July 2.

The categories are: Federal Credit Union of the Year, CEO of the Year, Professional of the Year and Volunteer of the Year in two credit union asset-size categories.

The distinction of Federal Credit Union of the Year was given to Pinellas FCU in Largo, Fla., in the asset size category of less than $150 million, and Tinker FCU in Oklahoma City, Okla., in the category of $150 million or more.

“The accomplishments of these outstanding institutions and individuals underscore that hard work, dedication and innovation are yielding success for credit unions and their members across the country,” said NAFCU President Fred Becker. “We’re proud to recognize them at our Annual Conference this June as we bring together the industry’s best and brightest.”

Individual winners include:

CEO of the Year

Lynette Smith, Washington Gas Light FCU in Springfield, Va. (less than $150 million)

Gail DeBoer, SAC FCU in Bellevue, Neb. ($150 million or more)

Professional of the Year

Dan McGowan, Pioneer West Virginia FCU in Charleston, W.Va. (less than $150 million)

David Tuyo, Pen Air FCU in Pensacola, Fla. ($150 million or more)

Volunteer of the Year

Ralph Bicker, Pasadena FCU in Pasadena, Calif. (less than $150 million)

Curtis Collins, JSC FCU in Houston, Texas ($150 million or more)

Annual Awards Competition winners will be feted during the Awards Ceremony and Luncheon on June 30 at NAFCU’s 44th Annual Conference & Exhibition and profiled in an upcoming issue of The Federal Credit Union magazine. In addition, the winning award entries for NAFCU’s 2011 Annual Marketing Awards Competition, announced earlier this year, will be on display at the conference.

Also during the conference, NAFCU will present the 2011 White Hat Award to the NAFCU member credit union raising the most dollars for NAFCU/PAC.

For more information, visit

NAFCU is the only national organization that focuses exclusively on federal issues affecting credit unions, representing its members before the federal government and the public.

More News