Notre Dame Federal Credit Union announces scholarship winners

NOTRE DAME, IN (July 6, 2015) — Notre Dame Federal Credit Union (Notre Dame FCU) awarded eight scholarships for the 2015-2016 academic school year. The students each received $1,500 and accompanying 2016 summer internships within the credit union department of their choosing. The students are:

·         Sarah Brechenser is attending Ball State University with an ultimate goal of earning a master’s degree in Occupational Therapy. She is also a 2014 scholarship recipient and currently a Notre Dame FCU summer intern in Loan Operations.
·         Alexandria Harmacinski recently graduated from St. Joseph High School. She is attending Ball State University in the fall for its highly ranked speech therapy program.
·         Andrea E. Keszei recently graduated from John Adams High School. She is attending Ball State University’s College of Communications, Information and Media to major in Telecommunications/News.
·         Benjamin D. Weaver recently graduated from Elkhart Central High School. He will be attending the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University in the fall.
·         Adam Haydel is attending the University of Notre Dame as a Science-Business Major with the hopes of becoming a physician. He is also a 2014 Scholarship Award recipient.
·         Erin M. Jabrocki is a Junior at St. Mary’s College, majoring in Business Administration and minoring in Italian. She has also earned the Presidential Scholarship from St. Mary’s for the last eight semesters.
·         James P. Moley is a Junior at the University of Notre Dame, majoring in PreProfessional and minoring in Poverty Studies. She hopes to become a physician and work with underserved populations.
·         Deirdre A. O’Leary is a Senior at St. Mary’s College, majoring in Religious and Global Studies. After graduation, she has been offered the position of Ministry Assistant at St. Mary’s College.

The scholarship committee, made up of Notre Dame FCU employees and members of its Board of Directors, selected students who demonstrated a well-rounded portfolio of academics, financial need, community involvement, leadership and participation in academic activities.

This is the third year Notre Dame FCU has made these scholarships available. Notre Dame FCU believes that higher education is among the most important intellectual and creative resources necessary to face current and future societal needs and challenges.

“The entire Notre Dame FCU family is proud to support these very deserving students! We send our heartfelt congratulations to these scholarship recipients and wish them the very best in their future endeavors,” said Tom Gryp, President and CEO at Notre Dame Federal Credit Union.

Included Photo
2015 Notre Dame FCU Scholarship winners at the Notre Dame Conference Center at McKenna Hall.
Back row (left to right): James Moley, Adam Haydel, Alexandria Harmacinski and Ben Weaver
Front row (left to right): Andrea Keszei, Erin Jabrocki and Sarah Brechenser

About Notre Dame FCU
Notre Dame Federal Credit Union, headquartered in Notre Dame, Indiana, is a not-for-profit financial cooperative. With assets in excess of $470 million, Notre Dame FCU’s dedicated partners (employees), coupled with a wide array of financial services, provide members a personalized experience at the credit union’s nine convenient branch locations, its virtual branch (Shamrock Center), and through its robust online banking platform and mobile apps. From its humble beginnings in May of 1941, operating out of the night watchman’s office in the Main Building on the campus at the University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame FCU has grown into a national financial institution, serving over 55,000 members in all 50 states and throughout the world.

More News