Peach State Federal Credit Union awards over $154,000 in scholarships and educational grants

Due to the pandemic, we were unable to celebrate with our scholarship recipients. Our President/CEO, Marshall Boutwell and the rest of our Scholarship Planning Committee are proud of all of the recipients and we wish them well with their education and their future endeavors.

LAWRENCEVILLE, GA (May 20, 2020) — Peach State Federal Credit Union is proud to announce the winners of over $154,000 in scholarships and educational grants.  Since 2002, Peach State has awarded more than $1.6 million through its scholarship program to students and career professionals seeking to further their education.

 Twenty-six $2,000 Career Advancement Scholarships, were awarded to members to assist in their continuing education in honor of the credit union’s founders.

  • Alice Samuels | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Ashley Andrews | Pathway Transition Programs, Inc.
  • Angelica Briers | Richmond County School System
  • Sean Patrick Fletcher | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Dayatrice McKnight | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Cassandra Moon | Franklin County Board of Education
  • Brandy Murray | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Betty Ojo | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Teresa Thai | VIPKID
  • Brittany Walter | St. Mary’s Healthcare System
  • Oluwaseyi Toyin Dabiri | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Tiffani Leverett | Richmond County School System
  • Karla McClure | Gwinnett Technical College
  • Anika McCarty | Gwinnett Technical College
  • Lizbeth Martinez | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Matt Roberts | Habersham County Schools
  • Nicole Bush | Richmond County School System
  • Darcy Craig | Clarke County Health Department
  • Suzanne Hamm | Jefferson City Schools
  • Tonia Harbin | Barrow County Schools
  • Kristen Keen | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Sheneka Mayes | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Francia Tolbert | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Alice Wallin | Barrow County Schools
  • Stephen Mark Webb | Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Wilma Widmer Career Advancement Recipient: Amanda Morris | Walton County Public Schools

 Legacy Student Scholarships were awarded to 10 high school seniors who will be attending college to pursue a degree in education. These $2,000 scholarships were established in honor of past and present board members and employees who have served Peach State for 20 years or more.

  • Jonah Free | Habersham Central High School      
  • Hannah Burton | Habersham Central High School             
  • Kalyn Jinks | Franklin County High School             
  • Anna Murphy | North Gwinnett High School       
  • Haley Jordan | Stephens County High School       
  • Spencer Kenyon | Grayson High School 
  • Emma LeMaster | Brookwood High School           
  • Ashleigh Lawson | Parkview High School
  • Caroline Leonard | Mill Creek High School            
  • Sarah McHan | Parkview High School

 Sixteen $2,000 school system and community honoree scholarships were awarded as a tribute to the following school systems and leaders:

  • Marion Barnes Student Scholarship – Thomas Collingsworth | Cross Creek High School
  • Andy Byers Student Scholarship – Michael Dowdy | East Jackson Comprehensive High School
  • Rick Cost Student Scholarship – Hayden Witmer | Grayson High School
  • Dan Cromer Student Scholarship – Justice Opperman | Apalachee High School
  • Dr. Francis Davis Student Scholarship – Ashley Brown | South Gwinnett High School
  • Gracewood Student Scholarship – De’Anya Bell | John S. Davidson Fine Arts Magnet School
  • Gary Hobbs Student Scholarship – Harley Stapp | Walnut Grove High School
  • Dr. John Jackson Student Scholarship – Lauren McCormack | Oconee County High School
  • Brian J. Mulherin, Sr. Student Scholarship – Destiny Musgrove | Butler High School
  • Louise Radloff Student Scholarship – Kristen Leilani Woods | Mountain View High School
  • Peach State FCU Student Scholarship – Noah Whitfield | North Augusta High School
  • Peach State FCU Student Scholarship – Sophia McCall | North Augusta High School
  • Pomeroy Woods Student Scholarship – Flor Cruz Ortiz | Cedar Shoals High School
  • Pomeroy Woods Student Scholarship – Taionne Smith | Clarke Central High School
  • Richmond County Teachers Student Scholarship – Christopher Mack, II | Richmond County Technical Career Magnet School
  • J. Alvin Wilbanks Student Scholarship – Caitlyn Hope Petmecky | Parkview High School

 Peach State is also proud to support the following organizations with a combined total of more than $50,000 in scholarships and educational grants:

  • Athens Technical College
  • Franklin County REACH Georgia Scholarships
  • Georgia Gwinnett College
  • Gwinnett County Public Schools
  • Gwinnett Technical College
  • Habersham Co. Schools REACH Georgia Scholarships
  • Oconee County REACH
  • Toccoa Falls College
  • Trion City Schools REACH Georgia Scholarships
  • Walker County LAUNCH
  • University of North Georgia

 “Our scholarship program is one of our most important traditions, established to honor and recognize the educators who founded the credit union more than 59 years ago,” remarked Peach State President/CEO, Marshall Boutwell. “We are proud of each one of these students and thrilled to be able to help so many people with their educational pursuits.”

2020 Peach State FCU Scholarship Planning Committee

About Peach State Federal Credit Union

Peach State is a $752 million credit union that serves more than 72,000 members in Georgia and South Carolina. Operating as a not-for-profit financial cooperative, Peach State’s mission is to provide quality financial services that meet the needs and exceed the expectations of its member-owners. For more information about our products and services, visit The credit union’s passion for helping their members and community continue to grow guided them to create the Peach State FCU C.A.R.E.S. Foundation. To learn more about how Peach State cares, visit


Kristen Patton
SVP, Marketing
770.580.6015 |

More News