SCU Community Foundation announces 2023 scholarship recipients

ARVADA, CO (May 15, 2023) — Sooper Credit Union and the SCU Community Foundation are pleased to announce scholarship recipients for the 2023 school year. One $4,000 and three $2,000 scholarships were awarded to students recognized for their academic achievements, participation in community service, leadership qualities, and character. Congratulations to the following students!

$4000 Scholarship Recipient:

Raegan Sawano
Colorado Christian University

Ralston Valley High School, Class of 2023

$2000 Scholarship Recipients:

Alexis Chelle

Dartmouth College, Sociology and African Studies

Jazmine Rivera

Regis UniversityNursing

Thomas Jefferson High School, Class of 2023

Jenna Sackter
University of Denver, Biological Sciences and English
Central High School, Class of 2023

Scholarships are awarded to assist with the cost of attending an accredited two- or four-year college or university for existing Sooper Credit Union members. Criteria such as financial need, academics, extracurricular activities, leadership positions, awards and honors, community involvement, and work experience are considered during the selection process.

The SCU Community Foundation was established in 2009 to focus and direct philanthropic efforts for charitable and educational purposes. It is comprised of community representatives and credit union leadership. Since its inception, the foundation has positively impacted the financial well-being of the community through volunteerism and the support of more than $200,000 in sponsorships, donations, and scholarships. For more information, visit

About Sooper Credit Union

Sooper Credit Union is a full-service, not-for-profit financial institution offering everything from savings and checking accounts to loans and mortgages. Serving nearly 40,000 members with nearly $675 million in assets, Sooper Credit Union accomplishes its mission by financially empowering its members' lives. Sooper Credit Union has five branches throughout Colorado located in Arvada, Aurora, Colorado Springs, Grand Junction, and Lakewood. As a part of the CO-OP Network, Sooper Credit Union empowers members nationwide through access to their accounts at over 5,600 Shared Branches and nearly 30,000 fee-free ATMs. For more information, visit

For more information, contact Emily Boulton at


Emily Boulton
Director of Marketing

More News