South Florida Educational Federal Credit Union awards $395,861 in university scholarships

MIAMI, FL (June 1, 2015) — South Florida Educational Federal Credit Union (FCU) is helping 15 South Florida high school seniors fulfill their college dreams by awarding them $395,861 in scholarships.  The Credit Union recognized these students at its 20th Annual Hubert O. Sibley Scholarship Ceremony held on May 21.

“As an educational financial institution, we take pride in helping these students achieve their goals, said Michael DiBenedetto, President and CEO.  It’s a great feeling to be able to help fund their college efforts.”

Since the program’s inception in 1995, the Credit Union has recognized 293 students and awarded close to $3 million in scholarships.  Each recipient’s full tuition scholarship covers the cost of tuition at any of Florida’s state universities through the Florida Prepaid University Plan.

The 2015 South Florida Educational Federal Credit Union Scholarship Recipients are:

Latela Blue William H. Turner Technical High School
Daniela Branson South Broward High School
Javier Cobas Coral Gables Senior High School
Kiana Corley Miami Northwestern Senior High School
Brence Davis South Dade Senior High School
Sabrina Fonseca Hialeah Gardens Senior High School
Yanely Garcia G. Holmes Braddock Senior High School
Kaycee Hodges Terra Environmental Research Ins. HS
Michael Ibanez Christopher Columbus High School
Anneliese Leal Our Lady of Lourdes Academy
James Melvin South Dade Senior High School
Robert Ortiz Terra Environmental Research Ins. HS
Claudia Perez-Brito Coral Reef Senior High School
Richard Santos North Miami Senior High School
Troy Tello Felix Varela Senior High School

To be eligible for South Florida Educational FCU’s Hubert O. Sibley Tuition Scholarship, high school seniors or their parent/legal guardian must have had an active Credit Union account for at least one year prior to the scholarship application deadline.  For more information on South Florida Educational FCU’s programs, call 305-270-5250 or

South Florida Educational FCU is the largest Credit Union headquartered in Miami-Dade County and serves educators, students and the families of Miami-Dade County Public Schools and Miami Dade College.  South Florida Educational FCU is committed to increasing educational opportunities for students in Miami Dade County.  Please visit for more information.

More News