Ticonderoga Federal Credit Union offers 2014 scholarships

TICONDEROGA, NY (November 15, 2013) —The Ticonderoga Federal Credit Union (TFCU) is again offering local high school seniors the opportunity to win several scholarships toward tuition at a two or four-year accredited college.

TFCU student members will be competing with high school students from credit unions statewide for $1000 Credit Union Association of New York awards.  In addition, they will be competing regionally within the Adirondack District for a $500 scholarship, and locally among TFCU members for $500 scholarships.  Three $500 TFCU scholarships were awarded in 2013.

To be eligible, students must be college-bound high school seniors at the time of application, attending college for the first time in the fall of 2014, and members of the Ticonderoga Federal Credit Union.

Applicants will be judged based upon their academic achievements, extracurricular and community activities and the quality of a written essay.  Applications will be judged by representatives of the New York State Credit Union League located in Albany, New York, and winners will be announced in the second quarter of 2014.

Applications are available at Ticonderoga Federal Credit Union’s home office located at 1178 NYS Rt. 9N, Ticonderoga and at their branch locations at 43 Meacham Street, Port Henry and 7519 Court Street, Elizabethtown.  Applications and instructions may also be printed from the credit union’s website. Visit to download an application.  Applications must be returned to any TFCU office, ATTN: Pamela Nolan, no later than January 31, 2014.

For more information, visit a TFCU office or call a Member Service Rep. at (518) 585-6725.

About Ticonderoga Federal Credit Union

The TFCU is a not-for-profit financial institution focused on serving their members’ financial needs and supporting the community.  Originally chartered in 1954 as the International Paper Ticonderoga Mill’s employee credit union, the TFCU currently offers membership to persons who live, work, worship, or attend school in, or businesses or legal entities located in Essex County, Washington County or the Towns of Hague, Horicon and Chester. For more information on becoming a member, please visit or call 518-585-6725.

More News