Black Hills FCU prepares thousands of students for a successful school year

RAPID CITY, SD (September 3, 2020) — Continuing their mission of improving lives, Black Hills Federal Credit Union donated over 75,000 school supplies to more than 60 area schools.

The Drive provides more than 20,000 students, in 17 communities across the Black Hills and South Dakota, with the supplies they need for a successful school year. Educators distribute the supplies to students as needed, said Heidi Bulman, community development officer for BHFCU.

“This year we did things a little differently, recognizing the need for social distancing and less high-touch items,” Bulman said. “With so many unknowns for students, families, and local businesses, we focused our efforts around supplies that kids would need regardless of where they were attending class.”

To gather the necessary supplies, the Credit Union relies on donations from members, the community, and area businesses. The team knew the Drive would be more challenging, and smaller than previous years, but remained focused on giving all students an equal opportunity to learn and succeed.

“The Drive is a testament to our members and community partners, who even during tough years, continue to lend a hand to help area students and teachers,” said Carol Brown, vice president of marketing and business development for BHFCU. “What started as just a few boxes of supplies has grown into an amazing community-wide project, thanks to local businesses and supporters.”

In preparation for the 2020-2021 school year, BHFCU’s employees spent countless hours collecting, sorting and packaging supplies for area schools. Donations to the Drive are made through the Black Hills FCU Charitable Fund, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.

About Black Hills Federal Credit Union

Established in Rapid City in 1941, Black Hills Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, not-for-profit  financial cooperative serving more than 105,000 members. The community-chartered credit union  has locations in Rapid City, Custer, Eagle Butte, Hot Springs, Pierre, Sioux Falls, Spearfish, Sturgis,  and Wall, South Dakota, and Billings, Montana. For more information, visit


Leslie Millard
Marketing Communications Specialist
(605) 858-6098

Heidi Bulman
Community Development Officer
(605) 858-6155

More News