ēCO Credit Union and the ēCO Credit Union Foundation Award Scholarships

ēCO and the ēCO Credit Union Foundation presented college scholarships totaling $7,500.

BIRMINGHAM, AL (June 9, 2020) — ēCO Credit Union and the ēCO Credit Union Foundation are excited to announce our 2020-2021 scholarship recipients. ēCO Credit Union awarded two $2,500 A.L. Bratcher Scholarships, while the ēCO Credit Union Foundation awarded one $2,500 ēCO Credit Union Foundation Scholarship.

The A.L. Bratcher Scholarship was created in 2011 to honor the late Reverend A.L. Bratcher and his work and dedication to safe, sound, member-first financial institutions. The recipients of the 2020-2021 A.L. Bratcher Scholarship are Kristen Jones and Tyler West. Jones graduated from McAdory High School and plans to attend Lawson State Community College to study early childhood education and visual arts. West, a Thompson High School graduate, plans to attend Jefferson State Community College and later transfer to Southwestern University.

The ēCO Credit Union Foundation Scholarship was established in 2017 with the goal to help adults returning to school to change career paths or improve in their fields. Dianna Minor is the 2020-2021 ēCO Credit Union Foundation Scholarship recipient. Minor has taught in Hoover City Schools for twenty-five years and is pursuing an Education Specialist Degree at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

“We are excited to honor three deserving recipients with scholarships,” said Joey Hand, ēCO CEO. “In their essays, each recipient expressed the desire to pursue further education to help other people. As credit unions promote the mission of being ‘people helping people,’ we are thankful for the opportunity to support three individuals as they make a difference in our community.”

Applications for the 2021-2022 scholarship cycle will be available in December.

Scholarship recipients pictured left to right—Kristen Jones, Tyler West, and Dianna Minor

About eCO Credit Union

ēCO Credit Union is a not-for-profit, democratically controlled financial cooperative, which exists solely to provide safe, cost-efficient, and personal financial services to its members. ēCO Credit Union was founded in 1939, and today has almost 16,000 members and more than $180 million in assets.  ēCO is open to the community and proudly serves members in Jefferson, Shelby, Cullman, Walker, and Blount counties.  Additional information about ēCO and its line of products and services can be found at


Hope Finley, Marketing Director

More News