Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union Awards $18,500 in Scholarship Money

LOWELL, MA (June 4, 2013) Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s MoneyStrong college scholarship program. The winners received a total of $15,000 to help fund their education costs.

“College expenses have risen dramatically in recent years and we are happy to provide hard-working local students with assistance in meeting those costs,” said Mark S. Cochran, President and Chief Executive Officer of Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union.

The winners of Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union’s 13th annual scholarship contest were asked to respond to the following: “Credit Unions have been around for over 100 years!  The primary goal of a Credit Union is to help their members save money.  In 1935 Credit Unions developed the saying “Not for profit, not for charity, but for service.”  At Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union, we’ve taken this goal one step further by providing financial education to help each of our members become MoneyStrong.  Please tell us why you think Credit Unions are important and specifically how Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union has helped you.” The submitted essays were informative and well-written. The winners each received a $500 scholarship at a May 30th reception at Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union’s headquarters at 1 Tremont Place, Lowell.

The MoneyStrong scholarship winners include: Alyssa Holdsworth of Central Catholic High School; Jacob Ashley of Chelmsford High School; Alexander Webb of Groton/Dunstable High School; Kayla Gagne of Lowell Catholic High School; Michael Morin of Lowell Catholic High School; Anna Rosado of Lowell High School; Andriana Kanellos of Lowell High School; Ashley Carr of Lowell High School; Bella Lopez of Lowell High School; Chantrea Sok of Lowell High School; Chhing Tiv of Lowell High School; Emily Karner of Lowell High School; Monique Menezes of Lowell High School; Musu Yengbeh of Lowell High School; Sean Glasheen of Lowell High School; Malynna Mam of Phillips Academy; and Kyle Cogswell of Shawsheen Technical High School; The following students will receive their scholarships at Dracut High School’s Pride night in June: Kyle Litteral; Paulina Phan; Ashley Jasmin; Rhiannon Ferronetti; Kara Cleghorn; Katelin Chandonnet; Stephanie Nihan; Zachary Bassett; Nidhi Madhavaiya; Eric Beauregard; Aimee Rondeau; Lyndsey Leboeuf; and Kacie Abramofsky

The Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union employee scholarships were awarded to: Daniel Enos of the Lakeview Avenue branch in Dracut ($500); Marisol Gallo of the Bridge Street Branch in Dracut ($500); and Catherine Connolly, daughter of employee Bonnie Connolly ($500). The winner of the Diane Rondeau Scholarship ($1,000) was awarded to Kathryn Jackson, daughter of employee Linda Jackson. The winner of the Janet Coates Scholarship ($1,000), which is matched by Maureen Pollard, was Jessica McNeill, daughter of employee Kirk McNeill.  Both the Diane Rondeau and Janet Coates scholarships are in memory of Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union employees who have passed away.

About Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union:
Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union was established in 1912 and is a full-service, member-owned community-based financial cooperative with more than 60,000 members and more than $1 billion in assets. It operates six full-service branches in Lowell, Dracut (2), Tyngsboro, Chelmsford and Methuen, Massachusetts; three high-school branches at Lowell High, Dracut High and Methuen High schools; and a loan center in Lowell.

More News