Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union names 2018 Scholarship Honorees

CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI (May 1, 2018) — Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union (MSGCU) is excited to announce its 2018 Scholarship Honorees. This year, a group of 31 high school students, college students, and educators will receive $2,500 scholarships to further their higher education journey. Founded by a small group of local educators in 1954, education has been an integral part of the fabric of MSGCU since day one.

“As a Credit Union humbly rooted in education and service, it is our honor to promote valuable lifelong learning among aspiring college students and dedicated educators,” said MSGCU President and CEO Peter Gates.

MSGCU received a record number of scholarship applications from more than 80 high schools as well as other academic institutions in Michigan. The caliber of the applicants and their accomplishments was inspiring.

After careful review and consideration of 300 applications, MSGCU is pleased to award scholarships to 25 students and six educators. Scholarship honorees attend 19 local high schools and five in-state colleges. Each recipient will receive a one-time award of $2,500 and all will be honored at a private reception on Monday, June 4. Members of the MSGCU management team and Board of Directors are scheduled to participate in the celebration.

Totaling more than $100,000 in awards for students, educators and first responders, the scholarship program is just one way MSGCU shows its commitment to education. Additionally, MSGCU is proud to provide more than $46,000 in classroom grants for local teachers, donate time and resources to local non-profits making a difference in the community, and provide free educational programs to local schools.

2018 Scholarship Recipients

The Rudolph Heino High School Scholarship was created in honor of Rudolph Heino, a long-time MSGCU Board Member who strongly upheld the “people helping people” philosophy. The scholarship recognizes high school seniors committed to inspiring others through service and leadership.

The five recipients of the Rudolph Heino High School Scholarship are:

  • Olivia Anderson, Brighton High School
  • Gabriella Braun, Eisenhower High School
  • Daniel Brejnak, Algonac High School
  • Keziah Eggert, Lakeview High School
  • Quinn Favret, Troy High School

The Larry Swantek Educational Studies Scholarship was created in honor of Larry Swantek, a retired MSGCU Board Member and an educator of more than 25 years. He embraced his role as an educator and influenced thousands of students both in and out of the classroom. The scholarship recognizes high school seniors and current college students committed to pursuing the field of Education as a career.

The four recipients of the Larry Swantek Educational Studies Scholarship are:

  • Kelli Kwiatkowski, Western Michigan University
  • Olivia Matthews, Wayne State University
  • Anna Plotkowski, Chippewa Valley High School
  • Mackenzie Rahn, Anchor Bay High School

The Educational Solutions Scholarship is designed for high school seniors planning to attend a two- or four-year college or university. The scholarship helps offset the cost of earning a degree while celebrating higher education’s ability to change lives for the better.

The 18 recipients of the Educational Solutions Scholarship are:

  • Haley Beverlin, Hazel Park High School
  • Addison Bury, Eisenhower High School
  • Abigayle Chase, Stoney Creek High School
  • Michael Ciaravino, Grosse Pointe North High School
  • Gia Evans, West Bloomfield High School
  • Matthew Hotts, Shrine Catholic High School
  • Austin Lowell, L’Anse Creuse North High School
  • Megan Mueller, Royal Oak High School
  • Amir Owens, West Bloomfield High School
  • Sage Paris, Clarkston High School
  • Ebony Scott, Southfield High School for Arts and Technology
  • Corrie Seng, Lamphere High School
  • Paul Skowronski, Austin Catholic High School
  • Matthew Skrzycki, Troy High School
  • Madison Thompson, Eisenhower High School
  • Gleo Wade Jr., Clintondale High School
  • Hannah Wrubel, Eisenhower High School
  • Megan Ziembowicz, Anchor Bay High School

The Educator Advantage Scholarship is designed for educators and administrators to help cover the costs of continuing education while honoring a commitment to advancing educator skills.

The four recipients of the Educator Advantage Scholarship are:

  • Cheryl Droski, Baker College
  • Laura Ferriss, Michigan State University
  • Stephanie Goble, Oakland University
  • Krysten Staperfenne, Oakland University

Please visit for more information on the MSGCU scholarship program.

About Michigan Schools & Government Credit Union

Founded by a small group of educators, MSGCU has been providing quality financial services to the community for more than 60 years. MSGCU offers a full range of loan, deposit, checking, credit card, mortgage, and insurance products for those that live in lower Michigan. With 14 offices in Macomb, Oakland and Wayne Counties, MSGCU has more than 125,000 members, $1.9 billion in assets, and has earned a 97% member satisfaction rating for the past ten years. MSGCU has also earned five stars, as reported by Bauer Financial, for more than 20 years, and has been honored as a Top Workplace by The Detroit Free Press five years in a row. For more information contact Emily Boulton, Marketing Communications Specialist at and 586.263.8800 ext. 571.


Emily Boulton
Marketing Communications Specialist
Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union
4555 Investment Drive
Troy, Michigan 48098
Phone (586) 263-8800, ext. 571

More News