Minnesota Credit Union Foundation board elects new leaders, members

ST. PAUL, MN (August 23, 2019) — The Minnesota Credit Union Foundation recently held an election at its Annual Meeting, followed by a Re-organization Meeting, and is pleased to announce the following leadership updates.

At the Annual Meeting, two board seats were up for election: Dave Larson, Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union, who according to the Foundation Bylaws had termed off the Board, and Dana Garrett, North Memorial Federal Credit Union, who filled in for a vacated seat. The following candidates were nominated and elected to serve three-year terms:

  • Dana Garrett, CEO of North Memorial Federal Credit Union, who was appointed to the Foundation Board in 2016. She currently serves as the Foundation Board’s Vice Chair.
  • Greg Worthen of Richfield Bloomington Credit Union. Greg is currently the President & CEO of RBCU and serves on the Network’s Regulatory Review Committee.

Dave Larson was recognized by the Foundation membership for his dedication and contributions to the Foundation Board. Larson joined the Foundation Board in 2009, was elected vice-chair shortly after in 2010, and has served as Chair since 2014. Larson was presented the Proclamation of Appreciation certificate and a gavel plaque for his service as Chair.

“Through Dave’s leadership, the Foundation made significant changes and progress over the past ten years,” said Mark Cummins, President & CEO of the Minnesota Credit Union Network and President of the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation. “In addition to Larson’s direct involvement, Affinity Plus is also a strong financial supporter. I thank Dave for his service to the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation and the tremendous positive impact he’s made for the benefit of all Minnesota Credit Unions.”

At the re-organization meeting, the following Foundation Board members were elected to table officer positions:

  • Kathy Harrington, Heartland Credit Union, Chair
  • Dana Garrett, North Memorial Federal Credit Union, Vice Chair
  • Doug Hallstrom, Minnco Credit union Secretary/Treasurer

The Foundation Board regularly meets six times per year to further its commitment to providing the resources for credit unions and communities to prosper and thrive. Board members are from credit unions large and small operating in various regions throughout the state. In addition to directing the Foundation’s tenets of financial education and professional development, the Board also oversees the Foundation Scholarship Council (FSC) and Minnesota Credit Unions for Kids (CU4Kids) committees.

About Minnesota Credit Union Foundation

Focused on financial education and professional development initiatives, the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation is dedicated to providing the resources for credit unions and communities to prosper and thrive. MnCUF is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization founded in 1969 that serves as a charitable arm of the Minnesota credit union movement. For more information, visit


Julia Miller, Director of Communications


More News