South Florida Educational Federal Credit Union awards full tuition scholarships to 15 high school students

MIAMI, FL (June 4, 2018) — South Florida Educational Federal Credit Union (SFEFCU) awarded 15 Four-Year Florida Prepaid University Tuition Scholarships during its 23rd annual Hubert O. Sibley Scholarship Ceremony held on May 24th.  This year’s recipients represent Miami-Dade and Broward County Schools.

SFEFCU President and CEO, Michael DiBenedetto, Scholarship Committee Chair, Olga Botero, and           M-DCPS board member, Dr. Lawrence Feldman, honored the scholarship winners and their families who accompanied them for the ceremony.

During the intimate ceremony, the scholarship recipients and their parents graciously took turns sharing how they anticipate this scholarship will impact their lives.  “I thank the scholarship committee, board of directors and the Credit Union for this scholarship and their dedication to this community and to education”, said Alexander Freund, father of scholarship winner, Amanda Freund.

Since 1995, SFEFCU has awarded more than $3 million in scholarships to 300 college bound students.  Scholarship applications are made available in February of each year, and the winners are announced in May.  To learn more, visit

SFEFCU 2018 Hubert O. Sibley Four-Year Florida Prepaid University

Tuition Scholarship recipients:

Ashley Aguiar

Matthew Bishop-Raphael

Johab Cezaire

Gino Chaviano

Amanda Freund

Sydney Kramer

Delanie Maier

Kara Mckinney

Alejandro Mendez-Ruiz

Faith Miller

Yeilin Montes

Trelvin Payne Jr.

Victoria Pressley

Anabella Vazquez

Carla Vazquez

Miami Springs Senior High School

North Miami Beach Senior High School

William H. Turner Technical Arts High School

Coral Reef Senior High School

Southwest Miami High School

New World School of the Arts

West Broward High School

Southwest Miami High School

TERRA Environmental Research Institute

Medical Academy for Science & Technology (MAST) – Homestead

Miami Jackson Senior High School

Miami Senior High School

Miami Lakes Educational Center

School for Advanced Studies – South

Miami Palmetto Senior High School

South Florida Educational Federal Credit Union’s 2018 Hubert O. Sibley Four-Year Florida Prepaid Tuition Scholarship winners.
Yeilin Montes, Johab Cezaire, Alejandro Mendez-Ruiz, Trelvin Payne Jr., Gino Chaviano, Matthew Bishop-Raphael, Faith Miller, Kara Mckinney, Amanda Freund, Ashley Aguiar, Anabella Vazquez, Carla Vazquez, Delanie Maier, Victoria Pressley.

About Educational Federal Credit Union (EdFed)

Educational Federal Credit Union (EdFed) is the largest credit union headquartered in Miami-Dade County and has proudly supported and served educators, students and the families of Miami-Dade County Public Schools since 1935 and Miami Dade College since 1960. Within the past several years, EdFed has added several educational institutions into their field of membership, including Florida Memorial University.  EdFed is committed to increasing educational opportunities for Miami Dade County students and has awarded more than $4 million in scholarships.  For more information, please call 855-2EDFED8 or visit


Steve Webb
Educational Federal Credit Union

More News