Summit Credit Union announces winners of annual scholarships

Financial cooperative’s continued education prizes reward local students for achievement

MADISON, WI (May 21, 2020) — Summit Credit Union has announced the winners of its 2020 Board of Directors Scholarships, Faust Scholarship and Credit Union Movement Scholarships. The awards are one of several ways the member-owned financial cooperative, which gives over $20,000 in scholarships to area students annually, supports continued education.

“At Summit, we know that higher education can play a powerful role in helping young people reach their goals,” said Summit Credit Union CEO & President Kim Sponem. “We’re proud to reward these deserving students for their continued excellence and wish them the best as they continue their educational journeys.”

Summit announced that Sydney Breitbach, Donald Conway and Emma Boehm will each receive $1,500 as the winners of the 2020 Board of Directors Scholarships. Each year, the scholarships are awarded to three Summit members in their senior year of high school or who are currently enrolled in college or technical school. Breitbach is a graduating senior at Verona Area High School and will attend Indiana University to study business marketing. Conway, also a graduating senior, currently attends La Follette High School and will enroll in UW-Madison in the fall as an engineering physics major. Boehm is currently an undergraduate student at St. Olaf College studying anthropology and sociology.

Alexcia Brown, a graduating senior at Madison East High School, was awarded $5,000 as this year’s Faust Scholarship winner. The award is given annually in honor of Andy Faust’s 28 years as CEO of Summit to a student who is a member of both Summit Credit Union and the Boys & Girls Club of Dane County. Brown is currently an intern at Madison East High’s Summit branch and plans to attend UW-Madison’s School of Human Ecology in the fall.

Summit also announced that Karina Kloth and Tessa Parisi are the winners of its 2020 Credit Union Movement Scholarships. As the first-place award winner, Kloth earned a $1,500 continuing education scholarship. She is currently attending UW-Madison, where she studies economics and environmental studies and plays trumpet in the UW Marching Band. Parisi, a graduating senior at Edgewood High School, took home the $1,000 second-place award. She will begin her studies at UW-Madison later this year.

Over the past five years, Summit has awarded over $100,000 in scholarships to students throughout south-central and southeastern Wisconsin. To learn more about Summit’s commitment to supporting higher education and for information on its annual scholarship program, visit

About Summit Credit Union (WI)

Established in 1935, Summit Credit Union is a member-owned financial cooperative. Summit holds $6.8 billion in assets and has more than 252,000 members and 967 employees across 57 locations throughout Wisconsin. Since 2002, Kim Sponem has been CEO & President of Summit Credit Union, formerly known as CUNA Credit Union/Great Wisconsin Credit Union. Recognized for its excellence in employee engagement, in 2021, 2022 and 2023 Summit was named both a Top Workplace in the USA by Top Workplaces USA and a Top Workplace in the Madison area by the Wisconsin State Journal. In 2023 it has added a Top Workplace award in Milwaukee by the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. For more information, visit or call 608-243-5000 or 800-236-5560. For additional media information, visit or follow Summit on Facebook and Instagram.


Jason Waller
Cell: 608-698-5948
Work: (608) 243-5000, ext. 6862

More News