9 Minn. credit unions win awards, advance to national competitions

ST. PAUL, MN (August 18, 2022) — The Minnesota Credit Union Network (MnCUN) is pleased to announce the state-level winners of the 2022 Dora Maxwell, Louise Herring and Desjardins award competitions. These awards are sponsored each year by MnCUN and the Credit Union National Association (CUNA).

​​​​​“The Dora Maxwell, Louise Herring, and Desjardins statewide award winners illustrate how credit unions live the “people helping philosophy” through their everyday operations, community service and education,” MnCUN President & CEO Mark Cummins. “We are proud of the work that they do to improve their members’ financial well-being and communities as a whole.”

The winning entries will compete against statewide winners from across the country. Entries that place in the national competition will be recognized during the 2023 CUNA’s Governmental Affairs Conference.

The 2022 Minnesota award-winners in the asset categories noted are:

Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award
$50 – 250 million in assets: Associated Healthcare Credit Union, PCs for People Technology Drive
$250 million – $1 billion in assets: Ideal Credit Union, Feeding Our Communities Initiative
More than $1 billion in assets: Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union, Kick Start Campaign for the Polar Plunge (Special Olympics Minnesota)

Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award
$50 – 250 million in assets: NorthRidge Community Credit Union, Manufactured Homes: Affordable Housing for All
$250 million – $1 billion assets: TopLine Financial Credit Union, DEIA Advisory Group
More than $1 billion in assets: Hiway Credit Union, Builder Accounts

Desjardins Adult Financial Education Award
$50 – 250 million in assets, HomeTown Credit Union, Northfield College and Career Readiness Partnership/Let’s Master Money Gameshow
$250 million – $1 billion in assets: TopLine Financial Credit Union, LSS Financial Counseling Partnership
More than $1 billion in assets: SPIRE Credit Union, Hubert H. Humphrey Job Corps Partnership

Desjardins Youth Financial Education Awards
$250 million – $1 billion in assets: TopLine Financial Credit Union, Wayzata Financial Literacy Internship
More than $1 billion in assets: SPIRE Credit Union, Building Financial Freedom

The Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award was created in 1987 and recognizes credit unions for the activities they coordinate that benefit the community or a specific charity. This award promotes social responsibility among credit unions by formally recognizing their achievements outside the credit union.

The Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Member Service Award is given to a credit union for its practical application of the “people helping people” philosophy in internal operations. Created in 1990, this award promotes the credit union philosophy by formally recognizing credit unions that demonstrate in an extraordinary way the application of the movement’s principles in serving their members.

The Desjardins Youth and Adult Financial Education Awards formally recognize the leadership of individual credit unions and chapters in their efforts to better educate youth and adults in financial literacy.

About Minnesota Credit Union Network

The Minnesota Credit Union Network is the statewide trade association that works to ensure the success, growth, and vitality of Minnesota credit unions. With over $39 billion in assets, Minnesota credit unions are local, trusted financial cooperatives that serve over 2.1 million members at 404 branch locations, employing 5,841 people around the state. As not-for-profit institutions, credit unions give back to the communities they serve. For more information, visit


Julia Miller
Director of Communications
Minnesota Credit Union Network
(612) 380 -1433

More News