Affinity Plus Welcomes 2013 Board of Directors

Lori Berreman, David Johnson and Karen Foreman were recently welcomed to a new three-year term.

 ST. PAUL, MN (April 2, 2013) – Affinity Plus announced at its Annual Meeting of Membership that the three open seats for the Board of Directors have been filled and each candidate will serve a new three-year term. Below are their candidate profiles:

Lori Berreman

Lori Berreman is the VP and General Counsel and compliance officer for MMIC Group, a physician-owned medical professional liability insurance and health information technology company. Lori has more than 25 years of experience in insurance and financial services. Her professional memberships include the Society of Corporate Compliance and Ethics, as a board member of the Minnesota Association of Corporate Counsel, and the Physician Insurers Association of American. Volunteer activities have included coaching youth sports and nine years on the Eagan Planning Commission. Lori received her bachelor of arts from the University of Minnesota-Duluth and her J.D. from the University of Minnesota Law School. She also holds professional certifications from Fellow Life Management Institute and Certified Compliance and Ethics Professional.

David Johnson

David Johnson joined Affinity Plus in 1967, when he began working for the State of Minnesota. He has previously served on many volunteer committees and as a member of the Affinity Plus Board of Directors. Over his 36-year career with the State of Minnesota, David worked for both the legislature and the executive branch and specialized primarily in financial management. From 1998 to his retirement in 2003, David served as Assistant Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Health and managed its administrative affairs including finance, technology, human resources, and facilities. David’s financial management experience and previous Supervisory Committee experience will be an asset in assuring that Affinity Plus remains member-driven, providing high quality products and services for its members.

Karen Foreman

Karen Foreman is currently serving as a Mankato City Council member serving a four year term representing Ward One around East High School and Washington and Kennedy Elementary Schools. Karen previously worked for 30 years for the State of Minnesota as a senior administrative staff support manager in higher education at Minnesota State University Mankato and Minnesota State University Moorhead. Karen is active in AFSCME and served as a local President, and President of AFSCME MnSCU Policy Committee for 10 years and member of Council 5 Executive Board. Karen has been an Affinity Plus member for 30 years, and is excited for the opportunity to lead Affinity Plus to empower its members to improve their financial life style.

Commenting on their appointment, Kyle L. Markland, President and CEO said, “Affinity Plus has been fortunate in attracting people to our Board of Directors who consistently make ethically sound decisions for our members, and are experienced and knowledgeable in helping us find growth opportunities. I am honored to work with this dedicated group of individuals, and I’m confident that Ms. Berreman, Mr. Johnson and Ms. Foreman will only make us stronger in our mission to provide our members with extraordinary experiences and help us change the world one person at a time.”

Affinity Plus’s Board of Directors consists of nine members who are volunteers elected directly by the membership of the credit union. The 2013 Board includes Connie Roehrich, Board Chair; Karen Snorek, Board Vice Chair; Lori Berreman, Secretary; Stephen Geyen, CFA, Treasurer; Gary Denault, Director; Karen Foreman, Director; David Johnson, Director; Ron Rollins, Director; William Tschida, Director. The Board members help ensure Affinity Plus remains strong in its mission to put people first, before making a profit and operates within its Strategic Plan in which it states, “Affinity Plus – where a group of thoughtful, inspired people are committed to changing the world, one person at a time.”

Each year in September, Affinity Plus begins accepting applications for open seats on the Board of Directors. Positions on the Board are for three-year terms beginning in March of the following year. Election results are announced at Affinity Plus’s annual meeting of membership in March.

To learn more about Affinity Plus’s Board of Directors, visit

About Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union
Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit cooperative that puts people first above profits. We are committed to empowering consumers – for knowledge, for understanding and to know there are alternatives that focus on the success of people, not the bottom line. Members of Affinity Plus receive maximum value through competitive rates, minimal fees, and unique, member –centric products and programs. Affinity Plus is the largest credit union in Minnesota with state-based assets and has 26 branches located throughout the state. With more than $1.6 billion in assets, Affinity Plus is based in St. Paul and is owned by more than 160,000 members. Through a broad range of eligibility criteria, almost anyone can become a member of Affinity Plus. Additional information is available at or by calling 800-322-7228.

More News