Denton Area Students Selected to Serve on DATCU Credit Union’s Junior Board of Directors

Denton, TX – As an organization actively engaged in supporting the communities it serves, DATCU Credit Union recognizes how important it is to develop young business leaders with a heart for service and volunteerism.  In an effort to help local students further develop leadership skills, gain insight about the credit union and financial industry, and promote community service opportunities and volunteerism, DATCU recently developed a Junior Board of Directors comprised of nine outstanding local high school seniors.

The Junior Board requires active participation in regular meetings that will provide valuable hands-on experience. “These kids are shining stars and will one day serve their community on various boards.  We wanted to give them that opportunity now to observe first-hand how a board operates and makes decisions”, said Melanie Vest, Senior Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer.  They will also gain knowledge in a business environment and work together in the planning and implementation of a group focused volunteer project that serves the community. The experience is enhanced through collaboration with other enthusiastic, bright young minds seeking to become great leaders of the future.  As a reward for their efforts, each DATCU Junior Board member will receive a $250 scholarship to be used toward higher education.

Nominated and selected by their high school’s administrators, this year’s DATCU Credit Union Junior Board of Directors is made up of Dionne Agawu, Max Atkinson, Morgan Carter, Jasmine Kennard, Kylie Richter, Haylee Smith, Javan Stalls, Emily Staniszewski, and Virin Tamprateep.  These young people were selected from the participating area schools of Denton High School, Guyer High School, Ryan High School, and Liberty Christian School.

“We are very excited about this pilot program and believe that it is a wonderful opportunity for tomorrow’s leaders to augment their resume and to network with other young people while gaining valuable knowledge that will not only complement their life, but those within this community”, stated Pat Sherman, Vice-President of Business Development for DATCU.

DATCU Credit Union is a member owned, not-for profit financial institution founded in 1936.  With a long-standing tradition of superior service, they currently serve more than 69,000 members with assets in excess of $630 million, and have nine convenient branch locations.  Membership is open to anyone living or working in Denton, Cooke, Wise, Montague, or Clay Counties.  All are invited to take advantage of the products and services the credit union offers.  These include checking, savings, credit cards, loan products, investment products, and insurance.

To learn more about DATCU Credit Union, please visit or call 866-387-8585.

More News