ElecTel Cooperative FCU looks to boost borrowing with Talk Like a Pirate Day loan promotion

RALEIGH, NC (September 8, 2014) — ElecTel Cooperative Federal Credit Union expects to close the treasure chest on September 19th with another successful personal loan promotion.  The tie-in with the continuing appeal of national “International Talk Like a Pirate Day” provides a sure bounty for ElecTel and its members.

“We’ve brought in as much as $800,000 from our themed one day loan promotions,” said CEO Nancy Long. “We offer one day loan promotions several times a year.  Members always look forward to them.”

An eye-catching photo of a buccaneer shows he’s serious about the offer: 12-month term personal loans with rates as low as 2.50% APR. “Talk Like a Pirate” copy connects with the member: “In honour of that day of merriment, we’re offering ye a real barrrrgain.”  From a Dave Barry column a dozen years ago, “Talk Like a Pirate Day” has continued to grow, branching out to major social media sites.  It’s a great tie-in to market credit union products.

The promotion for ElecTel FCU was created by Your Marketing Co. President Bo McDonald, who couldn’t resist trying out a bit of pirate jargon ahead of the big day.

“Aye, it’s a constant struggle for brands to differentiate themselves from the competition,” McDonald said. “Avast! These themed one-day loan promotions are always successful. Shiver me timbers…that’s what sets ElecTel apart from the competition in a very crowded financial services market.”

ElecTel’s one-day “Talk Like a Pirate Day” promotion concludes on September 19th, but personal loan applications are being accepted online or in person now through that date.

Electel Cooperative Federal Credit Union is a member owned financial cooperative with membership open to consumers of all 27 North Carolina electric cooperatives and well as employees and their family members of all 27 North Carolina electric cooperatives. Employees, directors, and officers of the electric and telephone cooperatives in NorthCarolina, Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, Tennessee, and West Virginia are also eligible for membership.

More News