Five Credit Union leaders on the ballot for two at-large NAFCU Board seats

WASHINGTON, DC (April 19, 2017) — Five candidates have been nominated for two at-large positions on the board of the National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions (NAFCU) in the election cycle underway now. They are Rod Taylor, incumbent (Barksdale Federal Credit Union, La.); W. Christopher Hammond (Central Sunbelt Federal Credit Union, Miss.); Mike Barr (Commodore Perry Federal Credit Union, Ohio); Cisco Malpartida Smith (The Florist Federal Credit Union, N.M.); and Daniel Weickenand, incumbent (Orion Federal Credit Union, Tenn.). Election results will be announced next month.

Two incumbents have already been reelected to their regional seats – Region III Director Jeanne Kucey (JetStream Federal Credit Union, Fla.) and Region IV Director Thomas W. DeWitt (State Farm Federal Credit Union, Ill.) – and will begin new three-year terms this summer.

“NAFCU is growing, offering more opportunities for more credit union leaders to participate in NAFCU’s board elections,” said NAFCU Chair Richard L. Harris, president and CEO of Caltech Employees Federal Credit Union (La Canada, Calif.). “We appreciate the commitment shown by this year’s candidates to NAFCU and to the credit union industry, particularly as the association celebrates its 50th year of delivering the best federal advocacy, education and compliance assistance to our members.”

In addition to Harris, NAFCU’s board members include:

  • Jeanne Kucey, president and CEO of JetStream Federal Credit Union (Miami Lakes, Fla.), and vice chairman;
  • Debra Schwartz, president and CEO of Mission Federal Credit Union (San Diego, Calif.), and board treasurer;
  • Thomas W. DeWitt, president and CEO of State Farm Federal Credit Union (Bloomington, Ill.), and board secretary
  • Martin Breland, president and CEO of Tower Federal Credit Union (Laurel, Md.);
  • Robert L. Fisher, president and CEO of Grow Financial Federal Credit Union (Tampa, Fla.);
  • Gary Grinnell, president and CEO of Corning Federal Credit Union (Corning, N.Y.);
  • Jan N. Roche, president and CEO of State Department Federal Credit Union (Alexandria, Va.);
  • Charles A. Rutan, president and CEO of Southwest Airline Federal Credit Union (Dallas, Texas);
  • Rod Taylor, president and CEO of Barksdale Federal Credit Union (Barksdale AFB, La.); and
  • Daniel Weickenand, CEO of Orion Federal Credit Union (Memphis, Tenn.).

NAFCU members will receive their official ballots via email April 19 for voting in the association’s 2017 at-large board elections. Official ballots must be submitted by May 3.


The National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions is the only national trade association focusing exclusively on federal issues affecting the nation’s federally-insured credit unions. NAFCU membership is direct and provides credit unions with the best in federal advocacy, education and compliance assistance. For more information on NAFCU, go to or @NAFCU on Twitter.


Molly Safreed, (NAFCU)

More News