Michigan’s 2020 State-Level CUNA Award Winners

Michigan credit unions recognized for remarkable achievements in 2019.

LANSING, MI (November 9, 2020) — The Michigan Credit Union League (MCUL) congratulates the state-level winners for the 2020 Credit Union National Association (CUNA) Awards. Administered in Michigan by MCUL and CUNA, the Louise Herring, Dora Maxwell and Alphonse Desjardins award programs recognize credit unions for exemplary community service and financial education efforts.

First-place state-level winners go on to compete nationally for the CUNA National Awards. 2020 CUNA National Award Winners will be recognized at the CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference in March.

“MCUL congratulates the Michigan winners of the 2020 CUNA state-level awards. Michigan credit unions across our state did remarkable things in the past year to grow the credit union movement, expand financial education and bolster communities across the state,” said MCUL CEO Dave Adams. “This year’s winners are a great example of that commitment.”

Congratulations to the following first-place winners in this year’s state-level awards, judged by asset size:

Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award
  • Mid-Michigan Chapter of CUs (Chapter)
  • Community Financial Credit Union (> $1B)
  • ELGA Credit Union ($250M–$1B)
  • North Central Area Credit Union (< $50M)
Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award
  • MSU Federal Credit Union (> $1B)
  • One Detroit Credit Union (< $50M)
Alphonse Desjardins Youth Financial Education Award
  • Community Financial Credit Union (> $1B)
  • CP Federal Credit Union ($250M–$1B)
  • FreeStar Financial Credit Union ($50M–$250M)
Alphonse Desjardins Adult Financial Education Award
  • MSU Federal Credit Union (> $1B)
  • CASE Credit Union ($250M–$$1B)

More details about each award can be found here. A full list of winners, including second-place awards and honorable mentions, can be found here.

MCUL is currently accepting nominations for the MCUL and Michigan Credit Union Foundation (MCUF) Awards until Nov. 13, 2020. MCUL/MCUF Awards recognize both credit unions and individual employees for industry innovation, chapter effectiveness, community leadership and more.

MCUL Award Categories

  • Distinguished Service
  • Outstanding Credit Union of the Year
  • Credit Union Professional of the Year
  • Young Professional of the Year
  • Credit Union Youth Advocate of the Year
  • MCUL Chapter Effectiveness
  • Innovation

MCUF Award Categories

  • Excellence in Consumer Education
  • Credit Union Difference in a Crisis Award

The MCUL Awards Committee, based on nominations and supporting information received, will choose award winners to be honored in 2021 at an event and time still to be determined.

More information about submitting MCUL/MCUF Award nominations can be found here.

About Michigan Credit Union League & Affiliates

Organized in 1934, the Michigan Credit Union League & Affiliates [] (MCUL) is a trade association representing Michigan’s credit unions. Based in Lansing, Michigan, MCUL works to strengthen the credit union community and its image by providing advocacy on important issues, coordinating cooperative initiatives and by providing high-quality solutions that help credit unions succeed and enrich the lives of their members.


Shawn Glinis
734.793.3449 |

More News